Inner Strength


Strong willed is my character.
Been knocked down plenty of times.
Dust myself off, better than before.

How much can one person handle?
Is it my weakness if I need someone?
Carrying the weight of my world gets heavy. 

Almost afraid to open up to anyone.
Independence comes at a large price.
Paid all I am, until I’m broken inside.

Would you help me when I fall a step behind?
Could you hold my tiny hand in your stronger grip?
Hoist all this back breaking worry over your shoulder?

You may be a lesson, I still posses my inner strength. 
                                                                               @ donetta sifford 2-3-2013

This is for 100 Word Song at a very cool blog:             http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/dude-write-100-word-song-strength/

8 responses

  1. I loved the last line, and a wonderful 100 overall!

  2. Marked this one as “touching.” Very, very well done.

  3. Not a weakness, it takes strength to admit we need others. No man is an island. Don't look a gift horse in the mouth. A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush…wait, where was I going with this?

    Great piece.

  4. Thank you much! I didn't link it to your blog because I seen the 'Dude's only' which comes with the title of your blog. 🙂 I enjoyed this song. I had never heard it before. 🙂

  5. We all need someone like this to help us along.
    Lovely, thoughtful write.

  6. Nice poem! I really like how you used the prompt. The line about my weakness is very thought provoking. Great job.

    WG

