No Easy Way


The hard times make me

appreciate the easy times
in this life I lead.
Experience builds character.
We all get to choose 
whether to be bitter or better.

Life is far too short to be bitter.
We get no practice runs, no do overs.
What we make of each day lasts.
I have chosen to live each day 
as if it were my last. No regrets.

My choices today have shaped me,
just as my choices tomorrow will
reshape me in some way, good or bad.
To change one event in my life
story would destroy all that I am.

http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/100-word-song-i-wont-back-down/

Tom Petty – I Won’t Back Down

3 responses

  1. Hi, nice to meet you.
    Well, they said that everything in our life is a choice. With an unlimited possibilities.

    The second stanza seems to have a theme of “living for today.” see Robert Herrick

  2. Thank you. Self awareness can be a very good thing. I enjoy your song prompt.

  3. lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog

    Self awareness is next to godliness, my firend. AS long as you know that experience builds character, good times will be yours.

    Thanks for writing for 100 word song

