Deep Thought


 I place my hands on each side of my face,
fingers massaging my temples as if I have either
a headache or I’m in deep thought.
Truly it’s neither. 
It’s more or less a defense mechanism,
a way to hide my expressions with my palms
and my tell tale sign to not bother me.
These are actually the times I don’t want to think.
The gentle movement of my fingers on each side
of my forehead takes me to my non-thinking place.
A sanctuary  I do not want invaded, disrupted.
Pretense of something deep, my mind blank with peace.

@ donetta sifford 3-1-2013

http://www.velvetverbosity.com/2013/02/26/100-words-writing-prompt-320/

.

2 responses

  1. I love how the speaker uses this as a defense mechanism.

  2. good job on this. I know the urge to go to non-thinking places from time to time.

