To Juggle Crazy


Insomnia, you are my bitch lover,
that has seen me through 24 years of life.
Not sure if life gets in the way, or
mankind just made living hectic.
My organizational skills are not up to par. 
Even my attempt at remembering
has turned into scribbles of chaos
in my handwriting inside my day planner.
Truly trying to juggle the responsibilities of being a mom,
pretending to be an adult, though according to some i’m not.
Which I am quick to laugh because I can’t make this shit up.
I glimpse lightly over my day at night.
Thoughts weave in and out of each other,
racing through my mind.
Today was good though I tell myself.
I am a slightly bipolar chic, anxiety disorder,
obsessive compulsive disorder, and insomnia.
I managed to get things done, 
I made it through the Wal-Mart check out line
without being bluntly rude to the well deserving stranger.
Didn’t leave my buggy in the aisle to run for fresh air.
Managed not to murder anyone.
Relaxing in the moment that all is as should be.
Finally, sleep burns my eyes.
Oh, hated clock of time, time that I disregard,
how ironic you should read 4:25 a.m. 
when my day begins in an hour and a half,
yet yesterday has not stopped for me. 



I owe this hectic poem to Trifecta prompt, using the word Juggle and to a wonderful prompt blog, Woven Dreams Prompt, with the word being weave.
12 responses

  1. I just love this. It's so open and free and something we can relate to.

  2. I can so relate to this beautifully written piece!”pretending to be an adult”-oh,so true!And,”I glimpse lightly over my day at night.
    Thoughts weave in and out of each other,
    racing through my mind.” OR,

    “Finally, sleep burns my eyes.
    Oh, hated clock of time, time that I disregard,
    how ironic you should read 4:25 a.m.
    when my day begins in an hour and a half,
    yet yesterday has not stopped for me” So me!,”Superb!:-)

  3. Didn't leave my buggy in the aisle to run for fresh air.
    Managed not to murder anyone.
    Relaxing in the moment that all is as should be.
    lol This should always be the scale by which days are measured! love the conflicting personas.

  4. Whoa, perfect description. I relate.

  5. Ooo! I know that feeling! Very well described!

  6. i know life can get stressful, and one burnout at times. It gets better when we hang on to hope and look for a better tomorrow. Hang on to that thought and they will come. God bless.

  7. That moment at 4:25 am is the worst, particularly after all that tumbling effort. I enjoyed reading this.

  8. “I managed to get things done” <--This line speaks to me loud and clear. It says so much.

  9. So much to do and so little time, this is so naturally written and you did an excellent job on the prompt Donetta. I loved this line Relaxing in the moment that all is as should be.

  10. Nice piece! I can relate to the frustrations of Wal-Mart – drives me nuts. Thankfully, I have no trouble sleeping…only trouble waking up to go to work in the morning. (Hope I didn't just jinx it there.)

  11. I know all about insomnia, I can so relate to these words and feelings. Nice one Donetta!

  12. Such a great piece. There are definitely times when I feel like the previous day hasn't ended before a new one is starting.

