Worlds Apart


Between Heaven and Hell, 1989 by Jacek Yerka

Standing together in a world

where everyone walks alone.
Looking out the window on my side,
I see hope and a place flowers grow.
A kitchen where we share breakfast.
Where I admire you sipping coffee at noon.
Our children playing just outside in the sun.
Anticipating later, us in bed under the covers.

Standing beside me in a world
where you still feel you walk alone.
Looking outside of our lives together.
All you see are dark clouds and storms.
You pace the kitchen feeling sullen.
Outside just darkness where nothing grows.
Talking about how you can’t shake your anger.
You invent a hell in your mind I can’t grasp.

@ donetta sifford 3-5-2013


2 responses

  1. Nice contrast of being together…yet alone…

  2. I like how you told two different perspectives in your poem -just like in real life how people can view the same thing differently. Thanks for your visit at my blog!

