Trusting You


hearing your breathing, slow and easy

smelling the light scent of your cologne

mixture of your work smell, hard to explain

shingles, wood chips from cutting, just you

try opening my eyes but feels as if something keeps them pressed closed

holding my eyelids in place so all i see is darkness

reaching out toward your side of the bed, where you’ve barely awoken me

your body weight causing my side to tilt toward you some

 fingers find your calloused hand, move upward

your smooth forearm rippling with muscle as i continue up

finding your t-shirt sleeve, i rub your muscles already knowing you’re tanning

sliding over just a bit, i rub your collar bone and sharp jaw bone

your smooth face has grown rough with stubles of hair already

settling in to go back to my deep slumber, i let my hand lay on your pillow

moving it just so it’s under your neck, i twirl your almost shoulder length hair in my fingers

not even trying to  open my eyes now, i mumble something, asking if ya’ll finished the job

your familiar reply of a ‘ummhmm’ which is just your laid back style

snuggling deeper under the covers, barely aware of my thoughts

drifting thought passes that i hate the dark but don’t mind as i lay here in our bed

this is comfort, secure, yet i still love how you feel

find you intriguing, know every part of you, trust you to be here

thoughts start blurring with the hum of the fan and your deep, long breaths as you start to sleep

sinking into the oblivion feeling peaceful, my hand must have fell as i welcomed sleep again

jerked awake as you grab my hand and hold it tightly beside you

“what”?  i grumble through a dry throat, wondering if you have a drink on the nightstand

“you hit me in the face with your hand AGAIN” you say as if i done it on purpose

“sorry, i am asleep”   i say back and then almost awake but not quite, i turn over

away from you, you are so grouchy when your crew goes in right at dawn

 getting you home before the sun is too hot, so i push my bottom against your leg

childishly, rough so you have to scoot just a little

“wake me up when the girls get home. i want to go to the river”

already, my voice is sleepy again, insomnia is rough

you place your hand so it’s laying casually across my bottom

your breathing is getting louder as you mumble “ummhmm”

so many times we do this during the summer days

it’s safe, assuring, it’s trust between us, it’s love

@ donetta sifford 4-28-2013

I wrote this for one of my favorite blogs Woven Dreams and the prompt ‘Trust’ and I also wrote this for a prompt on Poets and Writers which was to write a poem about someone close to you, using any senses except for sight.  This happens a lot in the summer mornings because my girls seem to stay next door at my cousin’s all the time to play with their two daughters and my boyfriend will get up at dark to get to a roofing job right at daylight so they can finish up before the roof gets too hot.  He usually will get home before 11 a.m. and I have insomnia.  Once asleep though, an earthquake can’t wake me, but him putting weight on his side of the bed will barely wake me, where I’m half way talking in my sleep and my eyes feel super glued shut.  Without fail, I will fail back to sleep and my arm will flop on it’s on usually striking him on the face or chest. lol. It’s been a long night and it’s a rainy day.  The thought I put into this poem is making me sleepy.   Enjoy.

http://wovendreamsprompts.wordpress.com/2013/04/28/woven-dreams-prompt-12-trust/

http://www.pw.org/content/poetry_challenge

 

6 responses

  1. Wonderful! I really like this a lot. 😀

  2. Love the realism and the sweetness of this piece!

  3. A loving description of a man you have found to place your trust in. And I ‘trust’ you will be wanting to hang on to him. 🙂

  4. Aww – I loved this. The honesty in how we really live…and how we are in our sleep. I purposely hit my hubby when he snores…yeah, I’m evil! 🙂

  5. nice…i like the trust you portray between two people in a relationship…the intimacy and trust go hand in hand…nice narrative style to this as well…written with a gentle pen…

  6. very nice Donetta, this gave me a warm, happy feeling. your emotions shine through in every line. 🙂

    LOVE your new blog look, so fresh and spring like.

    Happy Week, G

