10 Horrid Band Names


I DON’T KNOW IF THESE ARE THE WORST BUT THIS IS ACTUALLY SOMETHING I HAVE THOUGHT ABOUT.  HEAR A WONDERFUL SONG, TRY TO FIND OUT WHO SINGS IT AND THE BAND NAME IS SO AWFUL YOU WONDER IF ALL THE GOOD ONES WERE TAKEN. HERE ARE 10 THAT I FIND REALLY TERRIBLE:

1.  LITTLE BIG TOWN   It’s true that some of their songs I enjoy, but even playing song pop on Facebook, I get distracted when I see this name.

2.  ALICE IN CHAINS    I know this is a popular band with many fans and wonderful songs.  Not my type of music or something I own the album to.  I can enjoy at least one song from any band.  It’s just ‘Alice’ implies of course a girl to me, which normally my mind goes straight to ‘Alice in Wonderland’ or a friend since elementary school, Alice B.  neither of which I want to see ‘in chains’.

3.  311    I did notice Stasha on her list did put under if the band originated from something, which is cool because names like Nickelback and Hootie and the Blowfish are questioning.  I haven’t dug into research other than a few bands that I didn’t hate the name.  So, I don’t know why this is the name and I adore listening to their songs. ‘Beautiful Disaster’ ‘Champagne’ ‘Love Song’  all of those I listen to repeatedly.  Just think maybe they didn’t think far ahead or if they did, maybe they were stoned.  I’m not really judging.

4.  PLAIN WHITE T SHIRTS    I love ‘Hey There Delilah’.  In fact, it is probably one of my top 15 favorites.  The name is just plain.  Plain and white?

5.   SUBLIME {WHICH IS BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL ‘THE JUICE BROS’   Once again other than a ska punk band from California, the only other information I have on this band name is it’s much better than the first name.  I have actually ignored wonderful songs and bands due to names, like this.

6.   SOUNDGARDEN    This band also has many songs I like but then the band names like this and Sublime, all start sounding the same which almost gets stuck in my mind that the music is the same.  Worse yet, if I adore a song, I will get the wrong band name stuck in my head.  It could be from the band Smashing Pumpkins and I am going through every Soundgarden song I can find trying to hear that one cool song I loved.

7.    LADY ANTEBELLUM    Now, this band has songs I love.  They have won many awards in country music and not many people haven’t at least heard the song ‘Need You Now’.  However, newer country doesn’t appeal to me as much as say Waylon Jennings.  So, it took me awhile because of the ‘Lady’ to figure out a man sings in this band.  Then also, ‘Antebellum’ translated to ‘before the civil war’ is a bit weird to me.  I heard an interview where they were talking about the old Victorian Style homes and the beauty of the old south.  I being stubborn, still find the name odd.

8.   ‘N SYNC    I for one will say loudly, I LOVE JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE, as a solo artist.  This name actually came about because Timberlake’s mother was listening to them rehearse and talking about how ‘in sync’ they were with each other.  Also, ‘N SYNC’ is a play on, with the last letter of each band member’s first name.  JustiN ChriS and so on.  I wasn’t about their music though I’m sure one song played enough to where I sang it on key.  Like the Backstreet Boys and even going back to my young days with ‘New Kids On the Block’,  they were a boy band and that alone is annoying at times.

9.   GODSMACK    I don’t particularly care for many of their songs.  I’m not religious.  I don’t know if it annoys me because it is so loud sounding though, to say my grandmother, God rest her soul, would hate the name no matter if they sang Church Hymns.  It annoys me because one member announced, yes the name was formed from an ‘Alice in Chains’ song.  While another member said casually, “We knew of the song by Alice in Chains, it’s a cool song but that’s not why our band is called Godsmack. It’s a funny story.  I was making fun of a friend for having a cold sore and the very next day I had one, so my friend says to me ‘Looks like God smacked you in the mouth for making fun of me’ hee hee.  So the name stuck.”    That’s not verbatim but basically the point and with a story that none funny, they’d been better off in my opinion just saying, our band is named after that cool song by ‘Alice in Chains.’

10.  GOO GOO DOLLS    Another band that I do love.  The name was worth looking up because I enjoy their music.  I have ‘Iris’ on my top 15 playlist and love ‘Black Balloon’.  The name of the band is bothersome to me.  So, for my 10th choice, I looked up the origin and they actually stated, they were a garage playing band whom were friends and not out looking for a huge gig.  Someone heard them, they were thrown in front of an audience and told to give the bands name.  The lead singer said this was the first thing popped out and then as good luck would have it, they have a record deal and a lousy name, which he says if he’d had 5 more minutes he would have came up with a better name.  After the record deal and hit songs, I guess it never occurred to them they could… change the name?

So these aren’t the worst probably, but right off the top of my head they are definitely pretty bad.  Done for:

http://www.northwestmommy.com/2013/monday-listicles-98

One response

  1. these are pretty lame, I agree Donetta! 😉

