Beacon Of Untruth


Lighthouse Dandelions by Jamie Wyeth

running toward you as if you were a beacon
back when judgement came unclouded, undimmed
drawn in by your simple, polite, charming conversation
as i grew closer to you, things became clearer
i couldn’t turn and run after the time i lost
just to feel your radiance and warmth that never lasted
tried to hold on to the memories tangled and twisted
the light you seemed surrounded by darkened
like the white cotton on dandelions
our love blew away and left me bare
my heart sunk when realization came unexpected
everything you stood for that made me follow you
had crumbled before my eyes 

@ donetta sifford 5-20-2013

4 responses

  1. ..quite sensitive… really nice take…

  2. I agree with Truedessa that was a very striking line, powerful emotional writing

  3. This line really made me feel..

    “our love blew away and left me bare”

    A bit like holding the stem when all the beauty has gone.

