Can’t Afford to Forget


how do i love thee?                you don’t, but i
 can tell you how losing feels 
many ways to lose a person, i cannot afford to forget
Creedence Clearwater Revival sings hauntingly,
put a candle in the window, but i feel i’ve got to move.
though i’m going, going, i’ll be coming home soon,
‘long as i can see the light”
 one bearable stranger, held my head up in the ocean
water glistening off his sandy blonde hair, his sweet kiss
tasting of saltwater, then goodbyes, time said no more
first lover,  can still see his green eyes twinkling
as we wrestled around feeling young, free
each year went by, until age said no more
though he pleaded stay a little moment longer
too much i needed to explore, on my own
friends who consumed my time, now left somewhere unknown
lifetime of friendships, photos flash images 
diapers, to school, to carreers, men, maybe coffee when we can
love of my life, saving me when i fought so hard to die
gave every piece of me he would take until nothing remained
in the darkest, coldest hour, i wasn’t enough
leaving every part of me scattered, jaded
gentle hand picked up the pieces, played a melody
showed me it was good to love and laugh again
 to forcing me to learn life without his voice
learned to be hard core, found how to get by fine
still fighting the black haze, angel of death
that swoops in no matter the age, time, lesson
stealing lives, wrecking homes, never stopping to explain
the loss he has cost me, i cannot afford to forget
Creedence Clearwater Revival sings in my nightmares,
guess i’ve got that ol’ travelin’ bone
’cause this feelin’ won’t leave me alone.
but i won’t, won’t be losing my way, no, no,
long as i can see the light”
‘how can one leave me, i know the ways’

@ donetta sifford 6-10-2013




9 responses

  1. Sometimes we lose people while they are right there next to us. We change.

  2. Thank you all very much. You are way too kind. This is one of my favorite songs though it's sad for me also. Played as the last song at my 22 year old cousin's graveside after the services were over in July 2011.

  3. lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog

    the CCR was a perfect touch. There's an earthy quality and salt of the earth feel to every word that CCR accentuates. awesome, netta.

  4. Quite good, and definitely the makings of a song.

    Thank you for linking up! Please don't forget to return for the voting!

  5. This is really good (:

  6. A very lyrical piece that should have the musicians clamoring!

  7. Wow… this one was interesting, Donetta… I think John would approve… Hell, he might even sing it!

  8. Like cutting through the layers of an onion, you've done a good job of creating images of loss, rebuilding, I'll have to bookmark to come back.

