10 Favorite FB Photos


Today’s Monday Listicles topic is one I love and also one that will be hard for me to keep at a simple 10.  To me photographs can tell my whole life story to anyone that looks through them.  I have an album that was my grandmother’s when she first had her 2 children, my aunt and mother.  Photos of my grandmother looking like a glamorous 1920’s movie star, her with my grandfather, her with her family, including a photo of her mother whom my grandmother ended up aging identical to.  Her sisters, brothers, and so on tell her life, then I have my aunts’ photo albums.  I have a couple cherished albums of my mother.  They are all deceased, so I wanted all I could hold onto.  That’s the story my photo albums tell, my life before birth, growing up, before children, with children, and every moment that is in my memory, is frozen in time forever.

I do not own a scanner, and that may be a good thing because I would never get any work done around the house and the children would have to fend for themselves as I scanned every photo I have.  I haven’t learned the greatness of Instagram just yet, though I do know the wonderful digital camera and my cell phone takes pretty decent photos.  I actually prefer a newer model of my Polaroid camera my mother bought me before she passed away in 2008.  Not only does it take wonderful photos that spit out in just a second, develop under 5 minutes, and is easy to carry around; it also reminds me of growing up from 1976 into high school days in the late 1990’s with my aunt forever snapping photos from her Polaroid.   So, here are the 10 I narrowed down that I downloaded from my Facebook page.  Top 10 favorite photos taken since I opened a Facebook account in late 2010.

My best friend Gloria and I in high school my senior year, 1994.

My best friend Gloria and I in high school my senior year, 1994.

She of course had to scan the one above and send it to me.  As mentioned above, I need a scanner and copier.  We talk but it seems like it’s less now that we have social networking than in 2006 when her and her husband were stationed in Dover, Delaware.  We grew up together with her one year younger than I, then she enlisted in the Air Force in 1997, met her wonderful husband, Larry, while they both were stationed at Pope Air Force Base, North Carolina, and now reside in Emuclaw, Washington.  Makes the visiting more difficult by far. Their lovely daughter, Alyssa is next!

Ms. Alyssa - Gloria and hubby Larry's daughter - 2009

Ms. Alyssa – Gloria and hubby Larry’s daughter – 2009

My boyfriend and I actually resided together from late 2000 until June of 2001.  We separated and during that time I met the girls father, Trent, who is pictured further down.  In November of 2001, not only did my birthday fall on Thanksgiving as it did this past year, I also found out I was pregnant with my oldest daughter.  While pregnant with our younger daughter, Trent and I decided to separate for good and so October of 2005 is when my boyfriend, Darrell and I decided we’d try again.  So, now it’s going on 8 years.  Looks like we’re together for the long haul and my girls are in Jacksonville, North Carolina.  They left after school on May 30th when my oldest daughter graduated 5th grade so they could be in their father’s wedding on June 22nd with their two step-sisters and half brother.  They are coming home Wednesday and I am so glad.

My boyfriend of 8 years almost and myself - Christmas 2010

My boyfriend of 8 years almost and myself – Christmas 2010

Claytor Lake below is on a post or two down for a prompt I done for Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop on somewhere fun to visit in my area.  The lake itself is 4,500 acres and is man made by a dam which was built by Appalachian Electric and Power Company in the late 1930’s.  The citizens in Dublin, Virginia began speaking of turning this large body of water and surrounding areas into a State Park in 1944.  This is part of the lovely lake which is a designated swimming area.  Check out the post on Claytor Lake State Park to learn more.

My best friend Sissy and I at Claytor Lake - 2011 - a post about the lake is before this

My best friend Sissy and I at Claytor Lake – 2011 – a post about the lake is before this

My cousin Derek, pictured below, was in a car wreck on April 13, 2011.  I live literally on a mountain.  A close friend, Dustin was driving with Derek’s 18 year old brother, Greg, in the passenger seat.  They wrecked on Parrott River Road that night, killing Dustin and Greg instantly.  Ironically, I had taken a photo with Derek and Greg on April 5th, 2011.  Derek almost didn’t make it and in the photo below, which was ironically taken a week before his passing, he was still going through a lot of treatments and physical therapy.  His spirits seemed to be up the day of the picture, though he had talked to me a lot about  his brother Greg and about Dustin.  He was found in his bedroom, July 2011, and though I had been told it was an overdose, his sister confirmed the autopsy report stated his death was due to the amount of injuries he had received during the wreck in April.   I miss him every time I go walking in the evenings and have to pass his home where this photo is taken.  I cannot imagine what his father, mother, and sister and brothers go through everyday.  I have suffered a lot of loss and losing my grandparents truly still haunts me.  I do know that no mother should have to bury their child, especially two of them.  I think of his mother and father daily.

My cousin Derek and I on July 15, 2011.  He regrettably passed away on July 21, 2011

My cousin Derek and I on July 15, 2011. He regrettably passed away on July 21, 2011

Below is Greg, who was the passenger that night in the wreck.  He was a senior in high school.  Since the wreck took place in April, shortly before high school graduation at Pulaski County High School, they announced Greg’s name during the graduation ceremony for class of 2011 and allowed his mother to pick up his diploma.  Dustin, the driver was 25 years old, Greg 18, and Derek when he passed away later that July, was 22 years old.  Greg and  Dustin, whom I regrettably didn’t show on here, are missed also along with several others before them and after.

My cousin Greg. This is Derek's brother whom passed away at 18 years old on April 13, 2011.  They were in a car accident.  Greg and a close friend Dustin (the driver) died instantly. Derek passed away 3 months later.

My cousin Greg. This is Derek’s brother whom passed away at 18 years old on April 13, 2011. They were in a car accident. Greg and a close friend Dustin (the driver) died instantly. Derek passed away 3 months later.

My lovely Madison and Olivia on Easter 2013.  Olivia turned 7 in January and Madison will be 11 on July 9th.  She will began middle school for 6th – 8th grade while Olivia will start this fall in the 2nd grade.    I am extremely proud of both of my girls and how well they participate in school as well as after school activities.  They are bright, funny, and in my bias opinion, beautiful.

My 2 daughters: Madison & Olivia on Easter 2013

My 2 daughters: Madison & Olivia on Easter 2013

My cousin Chasity has resided in Georgia since we were young, though she got to come in with her father and younger sister to Virginia to visit family quite often.  Her father is my cousin and his entire family resides here.  Chasity moved out of her mother’s home for approximately 4 years in 2001, and resided here in Virginia, 15 minutes away from my home.  She had her 3 year old son, Clayton, with her and when they came in to visit from Georgia the summer of 2011 he  had grown taller than me and turned out to be an outstanding young man.  I love her Georgia twang and how she pronounces ‘light’ and ‘right’ as ‘liiiiieete’  and ‘ryyyyeete’.

My cousin Chasity from Georgia and I - summer of 2011

My cousin Chasity from Georgia and I – summer of 2011

My goddaughter, Trina and her son Austin, in church on Christmas.  She is the 21 year old daughter of my best friend at the lake in the photo above, Sissy.  I had two C-sections, so being her coach along with her mom is the first natural, up close birthing experience I had ever had.  Austin was born December 2011.  His birth was the most amazingly beautiful and horribly disgusting moment in my life all at the same time.  Trina will turn 22 in August and is expecting a baby boy shortly after her birthday.  I have agreed to coach again with her mother and father of the baby.  I do think instead of the videos they used to show us in school, an up live view would benefit the girls much more.  Though, I can’t imagine I would want anyone recording me if I had given natural birth.  That’s no offense to any mother’s who do have the wonderful experience recorded.  Also, I am not in any way speaking badly of mother’s who give natural birth, only of how I felt faint and at the beginning found the birth to be gross.  I just wasn’t able to have a natural birth with my first daughter due to her cord getting wrapped around her throat.  Since I had already had a C-section and was also having my tubes tied, I opted on having another C-section with my 2nd child.

My goddaughter and her son in church on Christmas 2012.

My goddaughter and her son in church on Christmas 2012.

This is my babies at the elementary school they attend on the day of Madison’s 5th graduation.  This is their father and I believe the first photo we’ve had together in years.  Although he was married this past Saturday, I am close to his wife, and she, having two daughters previously, understands, there will be more moments where the children want a photo of just them and their parents.  Trent and her also have a 3 year old son together, so we all try to communicate well enough for all 5 children concerned.  This hasn’t always went smoothly, but trying is important.  Hoping to have photos along with my girls returned to me on Wednesday.

My girls father, Trent who lives in N.C. with my girls and I at Madison's 5th grade graduation.  May 30, 2013

My girls father, Trent who lives in N.C. with my girls and I at Madison’s 5th grade graduation. May 30, 2013

So, there are the 10 I finally chose.  I had a few others I wanted to add but I won’t cheat and go over 10.  I will use them in another post sometime. Perhaps on a Wordless Wednesday or one of the photos may inspire me a post.   For now I will just call this post my Top 10  Favorite Facebook Photos and it was written for Monday Listicles  on The Good Life. 

5 responses

  1. I like you added the stories of why these photos mean something to you, even the sad ones.

    1. Thank you. Even the sad ones have happy memories.

  2. So many wonderful and also heartbreaking stories behind all the photos. Great to have these to remember all the good in each one.

    1. The saddest ones can make me smile with memories as time goes by. I’m glad I have them all saved. Thank you for stopping by.

  3. I’m so sorry about the loss of your cousin and his friends. How very sad. Those photos must be of such a comfort to you. And your daughters are adorable. My daughter is 12 and all about coloring the hair too.

