Lifetime Ago – Wordle 116


 

 

Wordle 116


He had only been gone 10 days, yet,

it seemed impossible to think of anything else.

Was it I who told him we were done, as I sit

there calmly blowing smoke rings?  

Typical of me to remain indifferent under pressure,

keep the scare out of my words.  

Shut out all the voices telling me he might be the one.

Don’t recall where the old me had gone.

Where I once had been gentle, I had turned cold,

and convinced myself it happens.

Love was a risk I wasn’t willing to take anymore,

but, deep inside I  remember a time when I 

was ready to climb Mt. Everest to give into

life’s passions.  

That was another lifetime ago, when I met him.

I was the bartender where he frequently came.

Taking orders and thinking all the while,

he was all I would ever need. 

@ donetta sifford 7-7-2013

http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/2013/07/07/wordle-116/

2 responses

  1. And yet, these are lessons from which we learn and grow! Well expressed, Donetta!

  2. I loved this account of a break up and the history of the romance. It is funny how we hang on to the unsatisfactory just a bit too long rather than admit an error in judgement.

