Simply Moments


    

   This is the part where I give a kick-ass opening line, or maybe that was above.  Either way, there is no opening line.  Today is July 10th and it is exactly 4:13 am in my neck of the woods.  My oldest daughter turned 11 years old yesterday.  Her birthday party is being held Saturday, on a day much cooler for a ‘going into middle school’ kid.  We actually spent Monday night at her grandfather’s home.

     This would be her father’s father.  Anyone who normally reads anything I write, knows that my immediate family have all passed away.  Anyway, their grandfather, Randy, lives in an Amish Community.  No, he isn’t Amish nor part of the community.  He found a nice,  peaceful house there for sale about 4 years ago and bought it.  It is away from everything and that is the best part.  No internet access, my cell phone would get 1 bar of signal if I sat in the main road, and it’s pretty far back from nothing.

    We had fun though.  He bought my oldest daughter a bad mitten/volley ball set for her birthday.  After setting it up in his front yard, we played half the night.  ‘We’ being Randy, my birthday girl, my 7 year old, and myself.  Later, after filling up on ice cream, we went to bed.  My  7 year old is a rebel already and stayed up until 2 am with her grandfather, listening to him play the guitar.  My then 10 year old and I went to our bedroom we have over there and climbed in under the nice, cool comforter.  This is rare my oldest daughter wants to snuggle with her mother, so I enjoyed every moment of it.

     I awoke before her yesterday morning.  I was sitting in front of her, digging through my purse for my nasty habit of cigarettes, when it dawned on me, my baby was 11.  Now, technically she was born July 9th at 6:03 p.m. but that’s getting a bit silly.  The fact remained, here was her angelic, tan face lying there in asleep and so innocent and she will be attending middle school this fall.  Her grades are exceptionally well, she is so funny, and both my daughters are beautiful.  I teared up though.  It seems like it was just yesterday that I learned I was pregnant with her, went to the hospital to have her, brought her home and broke all the sleeping rules.  I’m OCD to begin with, so the thought of crib death terrified me.  I allowed her to sleep on my chest so I could feel her breathing for months longer than I should have.  (Though I was told not to do that anyway).

     Here is my ‘so what’;  Time flies by so quickly.  Life is rushed, then my baby walks, talks, starts pre-school, has a baby sister, does cheer leading, 4-H camp, and the list could go on.  Now my 7 year old is wanting to cheer, though it feels like yesterday, my 11 year old was shaking pom poms.  My ‘so what’ is cherish every second with your children.  They grow up so fast and now matter how much time you spend with them or for them, it never seems like enough time.  When she woke up later and I told her ‘Happy Birthday’ and let her sister slap her butt 11 times, and 1 to grow on, it crossed my mind in a bittersweet way, I wish life would always stay this simple for my girls. 

My 11 Year Old

My 11 Year Old

Yeah Write

10 responses

  1. Happy Birthday to your daughter. It does go by too fast!

  2. Aw, happy birthday to your girl! 🙂

  3. My oldest daughter turned 20 this year – it’s so hard to believe and I often wonder exactly where the time went? I was always in such a rush for her to grow up – and now, I wish I could dial back the clock and enjoy those moments with the wisdom that comes from hindsight. Happy Birthday to your daughter – may you both find happiness and adventure this year 🙂

  4. She’s beautiful! Happy birthday to both of you!

    1. Thank you very much.

  5. Time does go quickly…

  6. Yeah, that shaking the pom poms thing. I have one son, and he’ll soon be 14. Which makes him about the same age as your daughter. If you know what I mean. Hold on, mama!

    1. Lol. Yes, my daughter doesn’t look 11, which is another problem. She can pass for 13, and that’s fact because she wanted the top of her ear pierced a few months back. I was afraid she would let a friend pierce it, like I did when I was 13. So, after much thought, I took her to the mall. She had to have an adult there with I.D. and she had to be 13. My then 10 year old daughter plopped up in the chair, looking 13 to my distress, and her ear got pierced. She hasn’t regretted it. Boys think she’s older and I am not looking forward to Middle School. A soon to be 14 year old son. Wow. Good luck lady!!! I’ve been told boys are easier than girls, but I’m not so sure.

  7. my oldest is turning 11 in two weeks. it all goes so fast.

    1. Happy Birthday early to your oldest. 11 is soooo close to 12 and then 13. I preferred 8, 9, even 10. lol.

