12 Lines of Music Changing


Mama's Losin' It

 

The Prompts:

1.) How has music changed since you were a child?
2.) Write a post in just 12 lines.
3.) Your favorite summer view so far.
4.) Share your best way to beat the summer heat.
5.) Something a sibling did that made you laugh.

 

I added #2  and #1 together just for fun.  This is what I came up with to describe how music has changed since I was a child.  I always loved a variety of music, just as I do now.  Someday’s it may be bluegrass, then the next day, the blues.  I love old country classics, and some modern country.  Rap and hip hop are in my playlist, and it is amazing my grandparents were afraid I would understand that ‘Papa Don’t Preach’ was about the choice of pregnancy.  Now songs come on that my girls know, such as Eminem, and it’s just always played in the radio at different times.  Times are changing and definitely the music.

 

I don’t remember not knowing the words to ‘Harper Valley PTA’

or ‘I Saw The Light’.  I always knew that  ‘Jesus Loves Me’ too. 

First taste of opinion, Winnie the Pooh record player, replacing Don Williams’ 

singing ‘Tulsa Time’ with  Michael Jackson singing ‘Beat It’ from his album ‘Thriller’. 

Made my grandfather cringe a little to hear  ‘Billie Jean’ and the kid was not his son. 

Middle School came and I’d upgraded to a stereo, tape decks! Bass was a huge deal. 

 AM and FM stations, ‘Girls Just Wanna Have Fun’ and ‘Material Girl’ filled my room.

High School, I was as diverse as I am now. Bumping to ‘Ain’t Nothin’ But A G’ Thang Baby

one day, cruising in with Radiohead jamming out ‘Creep‘, floating  in with Mariah Carey. 

My moods decide what I’ll have playing.  Girls’ sing new country I can take or leave. 

See them picking up the 80’s style, when they don’t even know who Debbie Gibson is.  

Funny, I suppose I’m cringing  at their clothes,  as my mom did at my bell bottoms, in 1996. 

 

Written for Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop. 

 

 

4 responses

  1. Oooh I loved the bell bottoms of 1996…can they make a comeback please!?!

  2. Nice mash up of #1 and #2. Are you young enough to remember 45’s with the little yellow plastic piece that had to be stuck in the middle so you could play it on the stereo?

    1. I do remember the 45’s. lol. My grandparent’s raised me, so they had one of those floor model record players. Then, of course, my Winnie the Pooh record player. I was born in ’76. I actually still own my grandfather’s Bill Anderson, Roger Miller, and Hank Williams’ records, and my deceased aunt’s Waylon, Don Williams, Jeannie C. Riley. I just don’t own anything at the moment to play them on, or my tape cassettes. 🙂

  3. I listen to a radio station out of Pittsburgh that’s tag line is “80s, 90s, 2k and Today!” It’s pretty cool, it covers my whole life in music. 🙂

