The Nosy Neighbor


Lillie McFerrin Writes

Startled by my neighbor’s shrill, dramatic voice, I almost lost my footing.

Finally, I  decided to answer her obvious question, with an abundance of irritation,  “Locked myself out of my house.”

Seeming over-dramatic this time, “Please just climb down, slowly, out of the tree and I promise I can help you!”

Making my way off the limb I was using to reach the second story window, and down from the maple, I glared at her with questioning eyes. 

Blushing almost as she spoke, “Maybe we should call your parents on their vacation, I mean, this being the third time I have told you THIS isn’t YOUR house.”

Written for Five Sentence Fiction

7 responses

  1. Pretty good twist!

    I love the easiness you have to tell a whole story in so many words!

    You are very good at it. Congrats!

    Thank you!

    http://famelesswritings.blogspot.com/2013/07/locked.html

    1. Thank you very much for the compliment. I honestly have a blog on Blogger called My Constant Thoughts where I jot down poetry. I have never really thought I had the knack to write anything longer than a poem. This made me smile.

  2. Funny…but also sad.

    1. I was trying for more funny. It’s fiction so it’s all good. 🙂

      1. It did make me laugh!

  3. Who’s house is she trying to get into then? Intriguing take on the prompt.

    1. In my mind as I was writing it, I was picturing a drunk teenager or even child away for college coming in hammered while the parents are on vacation. Since she lives in a sub-division (that’s what we call them here in rural Southwestern Virginia), she sometimes tries the window to another neighbors house. Thank goodness the nosy neighbor is ready to ruin the parents vacation. Totally fiction. It just popped in my mind.

