“Currently” for Mama Kat


This is a prompt done for Mama Kat that is based on the blog Sometimes Sweet

 

Reading:.     I am currently re-reading one of my favorite books that has been on the shelf for awhile.  It’s called ‘Drowning Ruth’  by Christina Schwarz.  The book in told by different characters, such as one is Ruth, one is her aunt, her father, and so on.  It twist and turns around so much that just when you think you understand what has happened, another event takes place, leaving you longing to read the next chapter.  I go ahead and type out the description on the back of the book, and must add, I would recommend it to anyone.    “A gripping psychological thriller……… In the winter of 1919, a young mother named Mathilda Neumann drowns beneath the ice of a rural Wisconsin lake.  The shock of her death dramatically changes the lives of her daughter, troubled sister, and husband……………. Told in the voices of several of the main characters and skipping back and forth in time, the narrative gradually and tantalizingly reveals the dark family secrets and the unsettling discoveries that lead o the truth of what actually happened the night of the drowning………… Schwarz certainly succeeds at keeping the reader engrossed.”  Francine Prose of US Weekly.   “Deft and Assured…….. with strong characters and a plot long on tension and surprises.” Time

Listening To:   This summer has me listening to Robin Thicke ft. T.I. and Pharrell Williams with their jazzy beat of Blurred Lines.  The entire Goyte album is in my playlist.  Also, The Soundtrack from the movie The Great Gatsby is in my list of tunes.  Most of T.I’s songs I like.  As for the country music list, I am right now listening to Brantley Gilbert, Luke Bryan and Carrie Underwood.  Oh yeah, and love Miranda Lambert.  I have a very variable taste in music.  Some days feel like some dance, some like old country, Hank Williams, Merle Haggard, then the next I’m playing Ice Cube, then just piano music.  I love jazz, the blues, alternative music.

Thinking about:   My mind has been overwhelmed with the Zimmerman trial and Paula Deen.  I’m trying to kick my brain into ‘no news’ mode and think about the fair next week in my small town and my god-daughter is almost due to have her second son.  My mind has been wandering and making plans for a weekend vacation with my two girls to Pigeon Forge.  Also, their back to school supplies and I’m considering a great deal into returning to college this fall for some photography classes.  I am interested in photos, photography, scrapbooks, as well as I am in to writing.  If everything goes as planned, and I start the fall semester, this will be my first time in school since I graduated high school in 1994. Wow, huh?

Watching:    I don’t watch a lot of television.  Never did as a child.  Which back then we had 3 channels, black and white.  I just can’t seem to concentrate on t.v. shows and even when I do get intrigued with a running show, I always forget it’s on and miss half the seasons.  I do stay in touch with Supernatural.  Catch the NASCAR races on weekends when I can and was into the Bates Motel on AMC before it stopped airing.

Bummed out on:   I suppose I shouldn’t complain but we have had an unusual amount of storms and rain for this area so the summer hasn’t been much outdoor time around here and that most definitely bums me out.

Loving:  That everything went well for my oldest daughter’s birthday party.  She turned 11 and will be headed to middle school.  While I’m not loving that fact, I do love her grades, her sudden longing to save money, and the fact her and her 7 year old sister are very interested in after school activities.  This year my 7 year old wants to be a Cheerleader.  This will be her first year eligible, though she has been interested since her older sister cheered in 2nd grade.  Last year, she was on the school’s T-ball team and loved it.  So far, my 11 year old was a cheerleader in 2nd grade, played softball in 4th, and is now interested in Volleyball or Soccer.   I’m loving some of the summer projects I’m getting done around the house.  Other than the rain, I’m waiting on the fair, and enjoying summer.

So link up to Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop and pick a prompt:

The Prompts:

1.) A bad habit you’d like to break.
2.) “Currently”. A simple list of things you’re currently feeling as seen at Sometimes Sweet.
3.) Write about an argument you once had with a parent when you were a child.
4.) List 10 things you are afraid of.
5.) Write a limerick!

 

6 responses

  1. I love county fair time! My favorite part is the livestock auction, especially when pigs are shown, because they are such loose cannons.

  2. Drowning Ruth was a great book! I may just have to get it out and read it again – like yours, mine has been hanging around for a while too. I think that taking a class would be a great idea. I’ve thought about it too but can’t decide what I would want to do. I haven’t decided what I want to be when I grow up either 😉

    I chose the same Writing Prompt as you and enjoyed it.

  3. I LOVED Drowning Ruth! And back to school for photography classes sounds so, so fun! I’m kind of jealous.

    1. It is a fascinating book, isn’t it? It does sound fun to take the photography class. Don’t be too jealous. I’ll be 37 in November and other than loving photos and photography, I truly haven’t decided on a class to take that would lead to a career. I guess one of those cases where I just can’t decide what I want to be when I grow up. I have held some decent jobs over the years, and while I’m in between work, it sounds interesting. Could lead to jobs, taking photos for weddings, senior photos, children and family photos. I hope.

  4. I’m glad the party went well! My youngest daughter turns two next month. We’re having the party on the 3rd. I’m a bit nervous.

    1. Everyone says ‘The terrible two’s’. Honestly, my two daughters were both very well behaved at that age. I think I miss that age now that they are 11 and 7. lol. Happy Early Birthday and good luck with her party!!

