Fun of White and Black Russians


White Russian

White Russian

After linking up to the 10 things I am thankful for, I received a couple comments about not knowing what a White Russian was.  I was reading the comment from A Fly on our Chicken Coop Wall and it inspired me to write a post.  This is also benefiting to me because I’m in the process of Yeah Write’s 31dbbb and I’m a couple days behind.  Day 19 is to solve a problem or rather write about something that could help a reader.  Now while the knowledge of how to make a White or Black Russian isn’t a world shattering problem, it is an answer I have to a question.

I was the bartender at our local Moose Lodge Club for almost 5 years and this turned out to be my favorite drink to make, taste, and play around with.  Also, turns out to be the drink I still enjoy during dinners out and sometimes while relaxing on the river bank.  So, I’m going to give the basics on how to make each.

Using a short glass of your choosing (I like ones about the size in the photo), first add some ice.  For one serving of the drink, you will only need to add this for a Black Russian:

1 oz of Vodka      1/2 oz of Kahlua Coffee Liqueur   (there are other delicious coffee liqueurs to chose from such as Amaretto) but then that’s getting into the more creamy cocktails, like Amaretto Almond Cake.  So here you have a basic Black Russian.

1 oz of Vodka     1/2 oz of Kahlua  over ice, stir, add 1/2 oz of Half and Half  of your choosing, stir and here is a basic White Russian mix.

The fun part of these drinks of that most coffee liqueurs taste good by themselves.  I had a lot of request for just Bailey Irish Creme over ice.  I have added just Kahlua over a scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream and it is wonderful!!!    That’s the fun of this drink, you can play around with it.  Some people prefer milk instead of half and half.  Some people don’t like it stirred.  Interestingly enough, we had dinner at Applebees not long ago and they make theirs with the newest Vanilla Vodka.  Yummy!!!   So, if you drink alcohol at all, this is a wonderful drink.  Even men enjoy it. 🙂

One response

  1. Great job of responding to your readers’ questions. Of course, now I’m craving Bailey’s on the rocks. It’s five o’clock somewhere, right?

