If Memory Serves Me


painting by Andrew Wyeth

for you see, my dear,
as i await death’s arms
it is not heaven’s light
that flashes in my mind.
what keeps me patient
and smiling are memories
of youth long ago, the year
i bought my bike, despite
my mother’s worried voice.
ventures of riding unclothed
through the fields, moon
bathing me in it’s softness.
those were some of my
best days, before marrying you.
ah, our life together brings joy
to my heart as i prepare 
to part this world, but
those restless nights of summer
hold me hypnotically content.

@ donetta sifford 7-21-2013

Written for The Mag 178

10 responses

  1. Beautiful memories reborn in deaths wake….a beautiful write! Love this! 🙂

  2. Love the nostalgia, very beautiful =)

  3. Lovely – oh the contentment of best memories!
    Anna :o]

  4. the memories and visual photos in our minds is what life is all about…

  5. What, another bloke regretting marriage?!

  6. Ah the ventures of youth…

  7. Engaging and tender.

  8. Absorbing and rather moving…

  9. A lovely reflection on a life well lived.

