Life of Bliss


Lillie McFerrin Writes

This is purely fiction for Five Sentence Fiction.  This is stepping out of my comfort zone because I normally write poetry, not stories exactly.  Any prompts I normally participate in, give a specific thing to do.  I like how this prompt challenges me to put more thought into what I’m trying to tell with a story. 

     Dreama’s green eyes stared blankly outside.  The leaves were changing colors and that brought her some comfort in the knowledge she was dying.  Her will and testament was in place, in the hands of lawyers she trusted.  She silently wondered if her loved ones would miss her or be more than ready to rummage through the treasures she had collected during her 65 years of living.  Watching the wind blow leaves upward from the ground, she said a prayer aloud, and found her life had been filled with blissful love. 

5 responses

  1. I am sure this thought has rumbled through the minds of oh so many who reach the end of their mortal existence.

  2. This is so beautiful; a full, detailed story that tells us so much about the character’s feelings and her strength. You say a lot about her family too with her wondering. Well done. xx

    http://40somethingundomesticateddevil.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/five-sentence-fiction-bliss-dogs-point.html

    1. Thank you so much.

  3. This is a clear proof you can write stories, and do it with elegance, and beauty!

    I could relate my feeling into the character’s senses. Very human, and very natural.

    Thank you!

    Od Liam

    1. Thank you very much. I’m so glad you could relate!!

