No Room


Photo Source
Found myself walking, unsure
Headed in the opposite direction
Vaguely aware of their curious stares
I was getting away from her affection
Almost stopped once to catch my breath
Forced my weary feet to keep stepping
No use crying over spilled perfume
Heart has no room for regretting
Finding assurance as I picked up the pace
Focusing on the damning sounds of my boots
Let them all believe that I’ve gone mad
They’ll long for freedom when they grow roots
With this in mind, I started running

@ donetta sifford 8-4-2013
Written for:  VisDare

2 responses

  1. Thank you very much!

  2. It took me two reads to take in the full impact, but impact it definitely has. You've done a great job, Donetta of portraying shuffling tension ramping up to running anxiety. I also like that the beginning and the end are centred by the line: no use in crying over spilled perfume.

    Really well done!

