Heard It In A Love Song


Jen Kehl

I’m just going to jump right into this.  I’ve worked my way through the decades of music with Jen.  Here we are, 2013.  At 36 years old, I have named most of my life’s playlist in the previous post.  This post is going back to the basics and just some feel good, dance songs that make me smile. 

This become the summer song for my best friend and I.  Catchy tune. Good looking men. Sexy women. Lyrics self explained.  Robin Thicke ft. T.I. and Pharrell, what rhymes with hug me?  ‘Blurred Lines’. 

Moving along. Ahem. Adele’s voice is to die for and amazingly enough my 11 year old can sing ‘Rolling in the Deep’ and sound like Adele.  If I can ever catch her off guard long enough to record her, I would love for people to hear her.  Though as a mother, I do not push singing on her.  Nobody needs a Southwest Virginia ‘Ms. Honey Bee’ or whatever that kid’s name is whose mother is out of control as well as the child. 

I have to say, I truly believe Justin Timberlake brought sexy back.  Paired up with Madonna, even more sexier.  Grab a boy, grab a girl…………They’ve only got ‘4 Minutes’ to save the world. These two beautiful creatures mixed with Timbaland’s coolness, this song and video couldn’t go wrong. 

With Robin Thicke looking for a good girl with the help of T.I. and Pharrell, Adele thinking her and her lover could have had it all, and Justin and Madonna saving the world with Timbaland, I found throughout all of this, that  Fall Out Boy was prowling around. A  confession perhaps  with ‘My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark’.  The video features 2 Chainz, however, 2 Chainz doesn’t actually say/sing/rap anything. 

Now with all of these cool songs, I have to add one that holds a special place in my heart. I am a Pink fan all the way.  This song is powerful and it brings tears to my eyes every time I hear it. ‘Dear Mr. President’ is a song filled with questions that will never be answered.

A lot of songs touch my heart.  I have special memories every time I listen to Pink sing ‘Who Knew’.  Chills whenever I hear ‘Can’t Ya See’ by Marshall Tucker Band.  Elton John’s ‘I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues’ causes me to mist up.  Brantley Gilbert’s Georgia voice singing ‘You Promised’ is enough to make me cry.  I am, however, adding one more special song.  This song from the very first time I heard it, reminded me of my grandmother.  I requested the song to be played at her funeral in 2000.  Dolly Parton’s ‘Eagle When She Flies’, sums up how much strength and gentleness my granny held.  

That sums up all my decades of music and playlist.  This has been so much fun. Thank you to Jen!!  So, this is a blog hop.  Link up and share the songs you love.







12 responses

  1. Every time I hear 4 Minutes it reminds me of a story JT recounted during an interview while recording the song. He was complaining about not feeling well throughout the day and one point leaned over the soundboard to talk to someone and M jabbed him the butt with a B-12 shot and told him to stop whining. LOVE. IT. 🙂

  2. Yay Pink! And, as I recently started working at a CD store to help recoup from the financial bus my wife through us under in order to get her divorce, I can tell you that I have now officially heard Blurred Lines more often than the song's writers have!

  3. I agree, there a very few new Madonna songs I like. I preferred her 80's stuff, when I first owned her cassette tape singing 'Like a Virgin'. Later on in the late 90's, she got too weird, even for me. lol.

  4. Thank you. I love her 'Give me a Reason' and I like her 'Blow Me One Last Kiss'. I can't name too many Pink songs that I dislike. Maybe 'Glitter' and that's the only one that comes to mind.

  5. I knew there was someone he reminded me of. I hadn't listened to him until this song came out, and I'm a huge T.I. fan. He is like a version of George Michael!!! Sexy, ladies in the video, gorgeous voice, and yet his hair is styled better than mine. hmmm. Ah, still nice on the eyes. 🙂

  6. I've seen so much media about that Robin Thicke song, I'm glad I finally got to hear it. I'll have to investigate further. And 4 Minutes is one of the few “recent” Madonna songs that I enjoy. Great list.

  7. Man, this is so sad. Everybody has a song up on their list that I listen to on Glee. So sad. Maybe? Meanwhile, I think Robin Thicke is gay, he reminds me so much of an early George Michael who had all of those videos with hot chick dripping off of him. Like he's trying to prove something…what do you think?

  8. I'm a huge Pink fan as well. My favorite these days is Just Give Me a Reason that she did with Fun. Awesome stuff and awww, love that you included the Dolly song that was played for your Grandmother. Sniff…

  9. I agree. To be honest, I never really listened to Robin Thicke until this song came out, and now I'm wondering where I've been. lol.

  10. I agree, Pharrell, T.I., and Robin in a video together is very easy on the eyes. Thank you for stopping by. My grandparents raised me, and she was wonderful. She never had a harsh word to speak against anyone and I still don't know how. lol. She was very strong and gentle. If I could be 1/3 of the person she was, I'd be happy. 🙂

  11. Can't not like Robin Thicke. And Pharrell is one talented mofo.

  12. Oh I *totally* adore the Robin Thicke (Pharrell is so cute! (and married (as am I! Bad me!)) and I really really wanted to include it in my list, but just couldn't make it work with the rest of the post! SO glad you included it for me 🙂

    So lovely that you have such a special song to remember your Grandmother by. She sounds like she must have been a wonderful woman.

