10 Ten’s of Thankfulness


Ten Things of Thankful

First, I’d like to say, “Huge Congrats  to Lizzi at Considerings for being published at Scary Mommy   http://www.scarymommy.com/    and for hitting number 10 on Ten Things of Thankful!!”

This week, here are my Ten Things of Thankfulness:

1.  My girls had stayed a week with their father in N.C. and arrived safely home Thursday. Yay. Much too quite around here.

2.  I am thankful that my Wandering Jew plant is growing well.  I do not have a green thumb. My oldest daughter brought this plant home from school as a present to me in 2011 for Mother’s Day.  I haven’t killed it yet. (Which, I did read up on the plant, and almost every site says it’s one of the hardest plants to kill). However, it wasn’t looking much like photos I’d seen.  My friend, April, showed me how to cut longer vines, put them in water, like it was when I received it, then replant them once they sprout their roots. It’s coming along nicely.

The not so full yet but getting there, Wandering Jew, is mine. The gorgeous full one belongs to my friend, April. This is the goal I'm working toward as far as my 'planting' skills go.

The not so full yet but getting there, Wandering Jew, is mine. The gorgeous full one belongs to my friend, April. This is the goal I’m working toward as far as my ‘planting’ skills go.

april's wandering jew - june 2013

3.  I know there are people right now that are needing and praying for water.  We have had some major flooding this summer in my area, so I am thankful the sun has shown all week and the rain let up. Hope it moved to people that need the rain.

4.  Recently, I was put on new medicine, so I gained weight rapidly.  I am thankful that I finally got some motivation to begin doing yoga again two days ago.  Not just because of weight but the peacefulness I feel afterwards, also.  I forget now why I procrastinated so long on starting back.

5.  I am thankful that my oldest daughter can handle herself with grace when having a confrontation with another child that’s also 11 years old.  They have been friends for awhile, and without going into whatever 11 year old children find to argue about, I’ll just say, this other girl chose the last night of Bible School to want to actually fist fight my daughter.  I am thankful and proud that my daughter, rather than lose her temper, pretty much laughed at the other girl, informed her she was not going to fight in church, and very maturely told the other girl to grow up. I’m not sure where this behavior comes from, because sadly enough it’s in my nature to have hit the other girl when I was that age.  The only reason I wouldn’t have done so in church is because my grandmother would have took a switch to my butt.  I am glad my daughter can handle herself better than I.

6.  I am thankful and proud of both of my girls because they also have in their nature to save their birthday money, seen papa today money, ect.  My 7 year old has been saving change in her ‘Hello Kitty’ bank for what seems like forever. Now with it full and her having to use another ‘pig bank’, she collected all her change and put it in her little purse.  She wants to go to Wal-Mart tomorrow and ‘feed’ the change to the machine that gives her back paper cash. She announced she would keep her 1’s, 5’s, ect in the ‘green pig bank’ and begin filling ‘Hello Kitty’ up again with change.

7.  I am thankful to be going to the West Virginia State Fair on Sunday. I haven’t been in years and it is so much bigger than our local county fair.  I know my girls will adore it.

8.  I am thankful that since the end of June, life has been throwing some fast curve balls, and I have been striking out.  It finally seems with the arrival of August, things are smoothing back out, which means less stress for me. This in turn means more sleep. Then, naturally more sleep leads to a much nicer mommy. lol

9.  I am thankful that I have a creative mind.  However, I lack the ability to exercise this creativity. Ex: I have in my mind and some semi-drawings of how I want rooms in the house to look. Then, I just can’t seem to match my mind to the decor.  I’m thankful I have stumbled over several blogs that have tutorials on DIY projects. So, I’m beginning to get the hang of putting my creativity into action.

10.  This last one, I’m iffy about writing.  But, I am getting sleepy and right off the top of my head, running out of thankfulness. I am thankful for this though; so without going into detail, I will just say that N.A is having a party in my honor to celebrate 3 years clean.  This means cake. Which may mean more than yoga later on. lol. It’s cake though, yum. I don’t have life as rough as some I know, and I don’t have a stress-free life either.  I am thankful those ‘One Day At A Time’ days turned into 3 years two days ago. Which leaves me with two of my favorite quotes, but I don’t know who they are by. I read them in 2005 while in a rehab center.

~I can tell you what it was like and I can tell you what it is like now but I cannot tell you how it happened~

~I still have bad days, but that’s okay. I used to have bad years~

Hop over to Considerings and list your Ten Things of Thankful #10.  Also, Monday, I have a special post lined up.  One of my favorite bloggers, Lance from http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/, released his second book published, yesterday!  I adored his first book, “The Ballad of Helene Troy”.  I am very excited about reading his second book, “Soul to Body”.  He has agreed to let me ask him some questions about his second book and how it feels to have published two books.  You can get the full scoop here and if you don’t want to wait until Monday to read the post here, you should hop over to his blog and check out what his book is all about. I am honored he is letting me do an interview with him, not only because I admire his writing, but also, he knows he is sorta a guinea pig for me to do a guest post about.  Still learning all these things about blogging.  I should have added to my list that I’m honored and thankful Lance agreed to an interview. It’s not really cheating if I just throw it out there, is it?

13 responses

  1. […] it is 2:00 a.m. here in Virginia, which makes it Monday morning!!! As promised on my post, 10 Ten’s of Thankful,  I am excited to let everyone know I had the honor of asking Lance Burson some […]

  2. Number 10 is a huge deal. Congratulations and enjoy the cake!

    1. Thank you so much Kristi!!

  3. I think you must have a Stay at Home Jew plant instead of a Wandering Jew.

    Congratulations on #10 and the courage it took to write about it.

    1. lol. That never occurred to me my plant is afraid to wander off. 🙂 That made me laugh. Thank you for your congrats. I usually am an open book in person. I don’t write about it a lot online because some people can become a judge in one sentence. I always say on my Facebook account, that’s why I love escaping to G+ or here on WordPress. Nobody really knows me. On Facebook, I’m friends in person with at least 200 out of the 500. So, on there it’s no holding back. lol. Honestly, I am happy with myself and since I’ve hit my bottom a few years ago, there’s only up to go.

  4. I do love your list, especially #2 🙂

    I bought my own mum a Wandering Jew when I was about 11, and she still has it today – or it’s progeny – 40 years on 🙂

    1. That is super cool to know that you also gave your mom a Wandering Jew! I had never heard of it until my, now 11 year old, brought it home 2 years ago when she was 8 years old. I done all the research on it because I’ve never been a plant type person or gardening. Though I do long for a gorgeous flower bed. I just have never pushed myself to have one. Thank you for sharing!!

    2. That is super cool to know that you also gave your mom a Wandering Jew! I had never heard of it until my, now 11 year old, brought it home 2 years ago when she was 8 years old. I done all the research on it because I’ve never been a plant type person or gardening. Though I do long for a gorgeous flower bed. I just have never pushed myself to have one. Thank you for sharing!!

  5. Donetta, it’s not at all cheating to add such a lovely thing onto the end of your list.

    Thank you for the congratulations about the article and the TENTH. I’m so excited about both things and pleased you’re a part of this hop.

    I’m glad that your girls are exhibiting such positive character traits, especially your oldest (I, too, would have risen to the bait and hit back, no matter where I was – I probably still would). What mature young ladies.

    I’m glad you’re getting some time to relax and that August is treating you kindly. Long may it continue 🙂

    1. You are very welcome! You deserved a shout out. I am glad to be a part of this hop. Each week it seems to feel more like a community, where even long distance friendships can bloom just through a blog, and last. Your blog has a cozy feeling to it. I like the honesty, straight forward approach in your writing. That’s what attracted me most to your blog. I honestly made several friends on Facebook that I’ve yet to meet. One is in Phoenix and within the past 3 years, he probably can tell everyone my life story. Which I’m an open book. I have all of them on my Christmas card list. I have met several through blogging, which I took up first on Blogger, around November 2012. Then I discovered WordPress. Since less than a year ago, when I began blogging, I have met several people that I have grown close to and would like to add them onto my card list. You are one of those people. I admire how brave you are to share your story with others. Not everyone could do that and be as open and honest as you are. Makes me smile.

      1. I am fortunate to have discovered the balance between brazen honesty and sufficient engageability to make it work, I guess 🙂

        I’m glad you think my blog feels cosy. That’s a really nice thing to say. And certainly this hop is a wonderful place to develop friendships with people and interact in a MASSIVE way which isn’t found in any other hop that I know of. I love it.

  6. totally identify with #9 (even though the offset of the feeling good about being creative is the feeling of ‘I have run out of ideas! I will never think another original thought again!…lol so far I have been premature in my worries).
    #10 …cake is good!

    1. That, too, would be a scary thought. To never have another original thought, oh my. I’m glad to hear you worries have not come to life. I suppose, I’m worried that I have great ideas rambling around but cannot do anything very well, other than paint ceramics. I take my girls to a ceramic shop at our local mall. Once you purchase the ceramic you want, you get to pick your colors for free, then sit at tables inside the store and paint the purchased ceramic. Once done, they put it through the heating process, I want to say kilt? Then gloss over it for you for free. The prices are very reasonable on the ceramics also. So, I have found that I am patient and can blend colors well while painting. I will have to take a photo of the last one I painted, it’s a photo frame. lol

