Day 4 Gratitude Challenge – Reflection


For Day 4 of the 14 Day Gratitude Challenge, Celes ask us to reflect on what gratitude means to us.  She ask for us to reflect on two questions and answer them.  Here are her two questions:

  1. What does the word “gratitude” mean to you?
  2. Why is it important to practice gratitude in your life? (i.e. Why practice gratitude? Why not just go “lalala” and live life as it is, taking without giving, receiving without appreciating, and simply just work on your goals without regard for others, things, and the world?)

Gratitude to me means that I am truly thankful for blessings in my life.  I forget often.  “Thank you” comes out of my mouth in habit at times.  Example: Someone keeping a door open for me to slide in to a store, ‘Thank you’ rolls out.  I’m leaving the store. “Thank you” to the cashier comes out of habit.  I believe we all do this.  Not that there is anything wrong with manners.  

I myself have worked in customer service, and besides that fact, I usually have an ability to pick up on someone’s tone.  I can tell if it’s a habit ‘thank you’ or a meaningful ‘thank you’  I don’t expect every time I hold a door for someone, for them to overflow with gratitude.  It means a lot to me when I do something for someone and they are genuinely grateful.  I try to show sincere gratitude when I feel it. 

I believe in karma and I believe firmly that people get what they put into this life.  For me practicing gratitude isn’t just to earn me some good karma.  I can say this past month, I have had some hard hits, enough to where I am mentally trying to figure out what I done to bring this upon me one day.  Gratitude and appreciation makes the person you’re showing it too feel special.  Also, we interact with people all day, but we never know what personal struggles someone else may be facing.  Just some appreciation and warmth could make their whole day better.

What I dislike is for someone to help me, and expect my undying gratitude.  To me, they are helping for show. I also don’t like someone to be fake with me either, showering me with a million ‘thank you’s’ if they don’t feel it.  There is a quote I’d like to share:

“Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.”   William Arthur Ward

3 Things I am Thankful for Today:

Seeing my youngest daughter, 7, take her change she had been saving to Wal-Mart and pour it all into the change machine, to get back cash, a gift certificate, or make a donation.

Finally getting in touch with a business person, that I have been trying to reach for a month.

Having enough groceries to last until Friday

 

 

2 responses

  1. I practice daily gratitudes and it really is life changing to take time out of each day and state what you are grateful for and why.
    Have you read the book “The Majic” by Rhonda Byrne?
    It is a fabulous book on gratitudes which takes the reader through daily assignments for 28 days.
    I highly recommend it.
    Today I am grateful for the money I had to buy breakfast for all my co-workers this morning because it feels great to do little things that make peoples day a little better.
    I’m also grateful for finding this blog post : )

    1. I haven’t heard of the book. Thank you for suggesting it. I love to read and this challenge has been great. That’s awesome about your co-workers. It does feel great to do something for other people. I love the little things the most. I’m grateful both of my daughters are enjoying school. They went back yesterday. 🙂

