Glad You Are Gone


Memories of you are tarnished.
Stained by who you are
compared to who I believed you to be.
Won’t wear the brand of being your fool.
Every accusation you lay before me,
it was you that was guilty.
Do I envy her and the love you give her?
Why would I be jealous?
If that’s the love you were giving me,
I’m glad you took it away.
Free of you, your games and lies.
I’m not even sorry.
Can’t even love you or hate you.
Feel indifferent.
There’s nothing to feel 
for someone or something that wasn’t real.
Funny, I ask you once were you in love.
You said you used to be, but not anymore.
Don’t even feel stupid.
We all only know what we’re told.
Comfort in knowing what I tell others
is the truth of who I am. 

@ donetta. sifford  8-20-2013

Written for:  Trifecta
7 responses

  1. Such a strong voice. Nice job with the prompt. Thanks for linking up.

  2. Thank you. It almost feels like after writing poetry for so long, it all starts to have the same sound to it. I'm hoping I can still pull something unique out once and awhile.

  3. Thank you. Yes, I wasted a lot of time trying to believe in someone who misled me into thinking he was someone else. People always say they hate for someone to make them look like a fool. I don't feel like a fool for trusting someone. I feel like they are a fool to lose my friendship.

  4. Awesome use of the prompt.

  5. I like the honesty of this, and the acceptance of what is. Love or hate would be wasted in this situation anyway.

  6. You used the prompt ingeniously.

