We’ve Got Tonight


Jen Kehl

Twisted Mix Tape 21 – No Strings Attached – this means any songs about one night stands or relationships involving no commitment. 


Aren’t those the best kind of relationships sometimes? I have heard a couple times.  Moving on. 


I discovered Halestorm about a year ago, and I love their music.  I think if any song literally screams ‘no commitment here’ it’s ‘I Get Off’.








I have to say, I am not a fan of Kenny Chesney.  I don’t know if it’s that song ‘She Thinks My Tractors Sexy’ or he seems to try to hard to be sexy.  However, this song of summer love, him singing about leaving the next morning, but he can’t see how she could ever be ‘Anything But Mine’, it’s a romantic, one night stand, bittersweet type song. 







I may have this mix tape idea all wrong.  Am I supposed to be thinking of bands that all had one night stands? I’m thinking more on the line of songs that make me think of no strings attached.  I think Tupac summed that up with his song ‘I’d Rather Be Your N.I.G.G.A’ because even in the song he tells the chic, when I’m on the field, keep him on the sidelines. Sounds like no commitment here.




As far as one night stands go, I like Toby Keith singing ‘Dream Walkin’  He is singing of waking up, lipstick letters, girl’s gone, he wants to go back to sleep and dream of her.  


For my 5th song, I really enjoy listening to Matchbox 20 sing ‘You’re So Real’.  He is telling her, she doesn’t think he’s good enough for committed relationship, but I suppose a one night stand would do.  As long as she’s keeping it real.  
This is my Mix Tape of songs that remind me of no strings attached. I’m not sure if this was exactly the point but I chose some diverse songs and all worth listening to once or twice.  This is a blog hop.  No strings attached.  One night stand?  Share with Jen and all of us. 

20 responses

  1. That's okay. I did change it around. If you like Pandora, I think you'll really like Halestorm.

  2. Crap. I'm a total idiot. It's not my first time stopping by your site. You changed it, right? All of last week being back from vacation I think my brain was completely fried. Sorry Donetta!

    Wow – you were shocked that I didn't know those songs? haha Well, I guess it's that I live in my own bubble and I've officially crossed over to Geezer territory. I'm not a fan of all the Tupac-y stuff, I'm not much into new country, I think I've heard the Matchbox 20 and I should get on the loop, because it seems everybody knows about Haelstrom, and I've never heard of them. I listen to the stuff I like via iPod, Pandora or SiriusXM and that's about it. I sound like a music snob, but really I'm just kinda stodgy I guess. lol 😉

  3. Thank you very much for stopping by. 🙂

  4. It's surprising that a few people hadn't heard some of these songs before. I always find songs and bands I've never heard of since I found Jen's blog. I figured I played the ones the radio has worn out. I love Halestorm. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Thank you. Glad you liked the list. I tend to have a varied range of music taste, depending on my moods. I think everyone loves Halestorm and in a way, I'm glad I'm not the only one who doesn't listen to Kenny Chesney much or ever. This song crept up on me, along with one more of his, “Somewhere With You”. It has a catchy tune to it.

  6. I can't hold it against anyone who couldn't bring themselves to listen to Kenny Chesney. lol. I heard this song and loved it before realizing who was singing. So, it's one that crept up on me. Halestorm songs are great.

  7. Ah, I love listening to Tupac. Some of the hip hop/rap of today makes me sad as far as how silly it's became. So, I'm guilty of still bumping Tupac and Dr Dre. lol

  8. lol. I can't hold it against you for not listening to Kenny Chesney. This is one of those songs I heard and liked, before realizing who was singing. Had I know he was singing this, I probably wouldn't have listened. Now it is one of my favorites.

  9. I seen you added this song! It is one of my favorites. Though there isn't many songs I dislike that Halestorm sings. Your list was awesome.

  10. I think he does sing 'Boys of Fall'. There are very few songs of his I tolerate. The one included on this list and 'Somewhere With You' are actually on my favorites list. I'm a huge Matchbox 20 fan. Love Rob Thomas.

  11. Thank you for stopping by. Wow, new songs for you. That is shocking and makes me feel good. Hope you enjoyed some of them.

  12. Believe it or not, these are all new to me. Thanks for introducing me to some fun new music! And this is my first time visiting your site – it's beautiful! I love your background.

  13. I love the Matchbox Twenty song! And ew to Kenny Chesney. Although does he sing “Boys of Fall” too? If so, I can tolerate that one but probably only because my husband has played it a million times and it's embedded into my tissue at this point.

  14. thank you for the Halestorm inclusion! I used the same song… some of the others were talking about a different song of theirs (Halestorm's) but I went with this tune as well…can't imagine what was going through my head.

    lol

  15. 2Pac was a nice inclusion. Except for I have to admit. I didn't listen to the Kenny Chesney song either. 😀

  16. Wow! What a great mix of songs! Tupac…man…haven't heard that name in a long time! 🙂

  17. Thanks for the intro to Halestorm, and in agreement with Lance, this list was a cool blend of genres (though I couldn't bring myself to listen to Kenny =))

  18. Nice list, many I hadn't heard before. Glad you included some Halestorm!

  19. lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog

    Love the eclecticism.

    That Halestorm songs kicks ass and Uncle Bob from Detroit had a bunch of one night stand songs. nice

