Day 6 – Nettahontas


Day 6 of the 14 Day Gratitude Challenge.

This is a day to give thanks to our lives or ultimately the ones that helped give us life.  I am not highly religious but I believe there’s a Higher Power other than myself.  I love family history and knowing more about where my ancestors came from. 

Last year, we had a huge family reunion.  My cousin done a great deal of research and discovered Chief Powhatan would be my 12th great great grandfather, or something like that.  I found that extremely cool.  Who doesn’t want to be related to Pocahontas?  I picked around and had several cousins calling me ‘Nettahontas’ for a month. 

I suppose for today, I could thank my Higher Power and be thankful my cousin could find all of the information with hard work.  I am thankful for my great grandparents that I know of.  I didn’t meet my real father until I was 30, but his dad was in my life from the time I was born.  I look exactly like my real father’s, mother, Sadie.  I never had a chance to meet her, but I am thankful for having her bone structure and features.  My father passed away, actually 2 months after my mother in 2008.  

My mother’s parents raised me, which made them more like a father and mother to me.  They have also passed away.  I am grateful for all the values they instilled in me.  Thankful they took up their lives raising me when they didn’t have to.  I’m thankful my mother knew she wasn’t ready to be a parent and ask her parents to raise me.  I suppose when I was younger, I held resentment toward my mother and father but after meeting him, I let it go.  Life is short.  The year I did get to spend knowing him, I’m thankful for.  I am ashamed to admit, I didn’t truly forgive my mother until after she passed away in 2008.  I hope my Higher Power can let her know and she can forgive me also. 

Today, my 3 things I’m grateful for are:

1.  Both of my daughters enjoyed school today.  Yesterday, my oldest began her journey into 6th grade. Today, my youngest started 2nd grade.  

2.  I’m thankful I have food to feed them each evening because this past month has been a bit of a struggle. 

3.  I’m thankful for finding a washer to buy from a friend, because right before school was starting, my washer gave out.  Not having a license to drive to a laundry mat is stressful.  So, I’m thankful to my friend. 

2 responses

  1. we should always take time to be grateful for all the good people and things in our lives. it’s so easy to get wrapped up in the bad stuff and what isn’t really important. nice post Donetta!

    1. Thank you for stopping by. It is easy to get wrapped up in stress and life, focus on bad. This challenge is teaching me how to stop and reflect on each day and good things. 🙂

