Escape Plan


Six Sentence Stories/

It has become apparent that in this blog, anything goes.  Prompts I love, things on my mind, and even Wordless Wednesday.  My Constant Thoughts, my blog on Blogger is for poetry, or a form I call poetry.  There are a few exceptions to the rule, but for the most part the entire blog has been dedicated to poetry.  Now, I am going to link up to Two Shoes in Texas and try to write something passable for Six Sentence Stories.  

  Gena had Iron Maiden screaming in her ears through the head buds of her MP3 player, when her sister crawled in bed with her.  She could hear over the loud music, louder sounds of her mother and father yelling at each other, calling each other names, and she just wanted to go to sleep. She had to go to school in three hours, and there was no way they would ruin that for her. She wished Cindy was old enough to go to school with her, so she wouldn’t hear the morning bickering of hangovers talking.  She hoped Cindy would understand one day,  Gena’s education was the only power they would have. 

 

11 responses

  1. Well done…certainly more than passable.

  2. I tried to leave a comment earlier from my android which I must confess I am very very frustrated and dysfunctional in my ability to use it…. so I think my last comment was lost but…that said….

    This was well written. It seems that in families like this one, the kids go one of two ways….they become little parents like your character or they become like their parents…thank goodness for the formers… Its a piece that sadly hits home for many….you got a huge point across in so little space… really well done!

    1. Thank you so much. It is sad either way sometimes. I believe when the older sibling has to parent and protect the younger sibling, it takes so much away from their own childhood. Although, that which doesn’t kill us…. It’s tragic when the violence keeps traveling from generation to generation. Thank goodness my grandparents raised me with a wonderful amount of patience and love. My own two daughters are very much children. My half sister had a tough time growing up with our mom and my step dad. I based some on her, though she has no other sibling but me, and I’m the oldest, and alas wasn’t there to protect her.

  3. This is a very well written story about a subject that painfully true for many children. I love that Gena realizes she does not have to live her life this way, she has a choice, and education can help her move forward to a much better place, hopefully inspiring her sister to do the same. It is important for people to realize that the past does not have to define them. I am so glad you’ve joined in, Donetta, this was a great addition to 6SS, thank you! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much. I normally write the poetry, so this exercise is wonderful to try. I had a wonderful childhood, but I’ve seen and known some who didn’t. I believe education is important in not getting stuck somewhere and I believe that also, the past doesn’t have to define who we are in the present. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. oh how sad but true. Thank goodness there’s always one kid with their head on their shoulders in situations like that…it sad that sometimes home has to be survival of the fittest

    1. It is sad. Home should be the one place children feel the safest. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

  5. This is a powerful little story, and one so many can relate to. I always believed, “What doesn’t kill me makes me stronger.” And I still believe it. It is my mantra. Thanks for sharing this, and for joining us at 6SS.

    1. P.S. I normally write poetry, as well. I have expanded to essays, and now fiction. I hope to read more of your writing and invite you to check out mine.

      1. Thank you very much for stopping by. I will be sure to check out your work.

