Wednesday Hodgepodge – Peace


 

 

1. What’s the best thing about growing older?

I think for me, for starters I feel comfortable in my own skin, more in sync with who I and worry less about the small stuff.  I have experiences bad and good, that I wouldn’t trade for the world and I’ve learned more compassion, less judging and less caring if I’m judged. 

2.  When did you first feel like a grown up?

When I was 16 and a junior in high school, my grandfather had a stroke while I was at school.  My grandparents  raised me since birth, so it hit hard and this was more like my father.  We wasn’t rich by any means. They struggled to raise me.  Up until that day, I had been skipping school, partying, and being a teenager.  In fact, I walked out of after school detention that evening, and instead of my grandmother being there to pick me up, my best friend’s mother was waiting.  I had that sick feeling.  So, I knew I was going to have to attend summer school in order to graduate the following year, and my granny was so tired and absorbed with taking care of my grandfather at home in a hospital bed. I got a job at Wendy’s, paid for my summer school, gave my grandmother extra money, and bought my first car.  After my grandfather passed away 4 months before my graduation,  I  was well past the ‘teenager’ stage of life. 

3. Chocolate cake with white icing or white cake with chocolate icing?

Definitely chocolate cake with white icing. yummy.

4. What’s the nicest thing a stranger has ever done for you?

I had a blow out early one morning on Interstate 77 coming back from Galax area.  I wasn’t near the I-81 exit to take me home and I had hit a bridge when the tire blew out.  Cell phones were around but not everyone had one, and I didn’t.  I started walking. It was super early and not a lot of traffic.  A truck driver stopped and offered me a ride to the town near mine.  He was going that way because the gas station I told him I needed to get to, was a truck stop.  Of course, the whole ‘stranger danger’ and things went through my head, but to be honest on here folks, I had no license and the car was  registered in my ex-husband’s name, so I really needed to get close to home and get in touch with my ex, so he could have the car towed.  Being murdered sounded better than jail at the time.  Then man drove me to the truck stop and as I was getting out and telling him thank you, he offered me money for a new tire.  Just out of kindness.  I was close to my home, out of his truck, in public.  He genuinely was being a nice person.  I didn’t take his money but I won’t ever forget there are still nice people in the world.

5. What’s something you learned from your grandparents?

As said above, my maternal grandparents raised me. So, I learned a lot from them.  From my grandmother, I learned patience, love, not to gossip, and faith.  From my grandfather I learned every inch of the small mountain town, I still reside in. Learned how to swim, and not take shit off anyone.  I learned from them both, be nice, be polite, respect my elders, and value of work and money. I could write a book on everything they taught me. I’ll leave it with these basics. The important lesson for my life was ‘never be ashamed of an honest job, work for what I want, treat people fair, but don’t let people walk all over me. 

6. Wednesday marks a sad day in the history of planet earth-9/11…what’s something you do (or can do) to bring peace to your little corner of the world?

My little corner of the world is in Southwestern Virginia, a small town in the Appalachian, population 401  Seriously though, small towns have ups and downs. I raise my two daughters, mind my own business, don’t gossip even if it’s the truth, and I have a wonderful ability in any type of conflict, even one I’m having, to step back and see both sides.  We all see things different, no two people hold the same memory of the same event, and behind everyone is a reason for their beliefs, actions, ect. I try to stay on good terms with all people in my life. 

7. Share a favorite quote, scripture, or song containing the word peace.

“If everyone demanded peace instead of another television set, then there’d be peace.”    ~ John Lennon.  I always liked this quote.  People ask for so much perhaps instead of asking for the one thing that should be simple, myself included.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

What happened on September 11, 2001 was tragic and senseless.  To me, most wars are.  The bombing of Pearl Harbor was tragic.  Having our men and women overseas since 2001, is tragic.  What’s going on now with Syria is tragic.  I still cry hearing my uncle talk about the Korean war.  Violence and death of lives is always senseless.  I hear people say all the time, “So many innocent lives get taking during war.” To me, who is anyone to decide who’s innocent and guilty in wars and who needs their lives taken.  Vengeance is human nature but what has it ever solved? While a lot of people rejoiced over the news of the death of Osama Bin Laden on May 2, 2011, someone, somewhere wasn’t rejoicing.  His death didn’t unwind time and bring back the victims of September 11, 2001.  This is that ability to see both sides.  It doesn’t mean I’m saddened about Osama.  I’m saddened by the fact that two houses down the road, I have no clue what my neighbor is doing at this moment.  A neighbor of 36 years.  An elderly couple, whom if something bad were to happen or they needed my help, I’d gladly extend my hand.  At the moment though, I’m not worried if they are eating meat or if they are Vegans.  Yet across the Atlantic, in other countries, our men and women and their men and women die over wars and to me that is insanity.  I believe we have a Higher Power.  I’m glad I was born in America, proud of a lot of this countries history, and some not so proud of.  Had I been born in Australia, it wouldn’t make me less special in our Maker’s eyes.  That’s all I have.  

This is my first time participating on This Side of the Pond’s Wednesday Hodgepodge.  I enjoyed the questions and this blog very much.   Everyone have a blessed Wednesday evening.  

 

2 responses

  1. Welcome to the Wednesday Hodgepodge! So glad you joined in this week, and thanks for the twitter follow too : ) I always post the questions sometime Tuesday, and have the link up sometime after midnight on Wednesday. I vary the time a little to give different coasts the chance to be first. I’m curious what small town you’re in…I know a lot about Southwest Va. Hubs used to travel there as part of his territory, and I went to uni in Johnson City TN so have friends from Grundy, Chilhowie, and other small spots.

    1. The town I live in is called Parrott. It was named after the owner of the long ago closed down coal mining company, John H. Parrott. I’m in Pulaski County, but Parrott is kind of an in between town. Meaning, everywhere is a 20 minute drive from Dublin, to Montgomery County where Va. Tech is. About a 20 minute drive to Radford, Va where Radford University is. I guess the bigger towns are an hour away, such as Roanoke. 🙂 I have been through Johnson City, Tn. several times. I once thought of moving there. Thank you for stopping by and I’m glad I ran across the Hodgepodge.

