Fall Has Pretty Colors


Mama's Losin' It

 

 

The Prompts:

1.) Something you wanted to be when you grew up.
2.) If you were to take a road trip this weekend, where would you go?
3.) 6 things you look forward to this Fall.
4.) Something you learned this week.
5.) Choose a room in your home you’d like to remodel, create a Pinterest inspiration board for it and share your ideas with us!

 

I decided to go with number 3 – 6 things I’m looking forward to this Fall.   

1.  The gorgeous views in my small town.  Here are some photos from last Fall.  I adore my photos. 

This is when you are driving into my hometown.  It's named Parrott after the man who owned the coal mining company back in the day, John H. Parrott.

This is when you are driving into my hometown. It’s named Parrott after the man who owned the coal mining company back in the day, John H. Parrott.

This is at my daughters' paternal great grandparents' farm.  It's in the joining town, don't blink an eye, this is the view of my hometown.

This is at my daughters’ paternal great grandparents’ farm. It’s in the joining town, don’t blink an eye, this is the view of my hometown.

What happens to be my favorite place in the summer, the river,also is my favorite place in the fall.  The view of these mountains are in the ;next county over, Montgomery County, home to VA. Tech.

What happens to be my favorite place in the summer, the river,also is my favorite place in the fall. The view of these mountains are in the ;next county over, Montgomery County, home to VA. Tech.

2.  In October every Fall, the town of Newbern, Va.  holds a Fall Festival.  They close the entire street down and there are craft booths everywhere.  Crafts, food, drinks, pumpkin patches, horse rides, a lot of history, the museum is opened to the public, bluegrass music playing all along the walk, a small reenactment of the battle during the Civil War that was in that area, and people whom live on the street usually have yard/garage sales.  It’s a great time.  I always leave with the only two things I collect;  a candle or two and a couple of magnets homemade.  The girls get their pumpkins there as we are leaving.  Here is a photo of my  god-daughter and I last year when we first arrived. 

Newbern Festival - October 2012

Newbern Festival – October 2012

3.  The elementary school that my daughters’ attend, or at least my youngest as my oldest daughter began middle school this year, have a October Fun Fest every year at the school.  I always end up volunteering to run one of the game booths. They also have food, drinks, games where the children win tickets and can trade them in for a  prize.  They also have several cake walks, raffle off prizes, and bingo is a huge deal there. I love it. 

4.  There are a lot of hiking trails in the area.  The New River Trail is probably one of the better known ones as it expands across a lot of counties.  Last year, my oldest daughter’s 5th grade class went on a field trip for an 8 mile hike.  We began in the county we live in, Pulaski County, and went from there, through Draper, and came out at the next county Hiwasee.  The entire trail expands about 57 miles or better.  Many things to see along the trail.  The 8 miles last year on the field trip was as far as I have been on the trail. Here is a photo I took from a point on one of the bridges. 

Just one of the many photos I took along the trail. The mountains are gorgeous here in the Fall. October - 2012

Just one of the many photos I took along the trail. The mountains are gorgeous here in the Fall. October – 2012

 

5.  For the past 3 years, we have had a family reunion around the end of September.  It’s held in Tazewell, VA.  which is going into West Va.  It’s held at Lake Witten which is a beautiful lake.  I’ve only been 3 times so far, coming up, number 4.  My god-daughter and my children love the paddle boats.  I do too.  Last year, my oldest daughter rode in the paddle boat with my god-daughter because they both could paddle while putting my then 6 year old with me, assuming they could paddle the lake and back to the dock before me and Olivia.  That’s until, my oldest daughter, Madison and my god-daughter, Trina, age 21 last year, start disagreeing about who should steer, who should paddle for awhile because one was tired, and about anything else they could bicker about.  Yes, my god-daughter is now 22 and my oldest daughter is now 11, but them two can bicker to the point of annoyance.  Safe to say, I showed my youngest, Olivia, how to hold the steering handle so I could lean back and use all my leg muscles to paddle.  We won. Well, that depends on how you look at it, because my 35 year old legs were sore for days. Maybe a tiny bit out of shape. 🙂  Of course, another photo. 

My Olivia and I smiling at our victory.  She is the one who acts more like me.  Madison acts more like her father. Sigh.

My Olivia and I smiling at our victory. She is the one who acts more like me. Madison acts more like her father. Sigh.

6.  I guess from the first 5 favorites of Fall, you can tell I love to hike and love my photos! I have collections of family photos that belonged to my great grandmother.  For school and general safety,  they send home an assignment for the children to work out an escape route in case of a fire and the meeting place to get a head count.  I have been going over the escape route since my oldest began preschool in 2006, the year her sister was born.  Now they are old enough to understand clearly that God forbid, we have a house fire, I don’t want to see either one at the meeting place without an album in hand.  The dog should even have one in his mouth.   errr…………. got sidetracked for a moment, sorry.  Since, I love walks in the Fall, and the cool crisp mountain air in the Fall,  then of course I look forward to Halloween.  I also love candy.  We go around our small hometown first and they rack up before leaving Parrott.  Then we drive about 15 minutes to Dublin, in a nice subdivision where their paternal great-grandmother resides.  Every house, minus a few, on each block, every street, have huge decorations.  I am talking about lights, grave yards on the front lawn, pumpkins everywhere, all the adults dressed up, and some have haunted house garages with things that jump out at you. It’s like a huge Halloween town and the girls’ buckets overflow with candy that I end up having to give away because it’s too much.  My favorite part is coming home, going through their candy, me tasting a lot, just in case something were to be wrong, and then both girls pick out what candy they will allow my boyfriend to have.  He likes to take it with him when he’s hunting all day.  After Halloween, I don’t plan much else until Thanksgiving.  The girls and I each year also participate in the Relay For Life walk in a nearby park, it’s coming up in two weeks.  Okay, enough rambling,and I’m kinda cheating by sliding the Walk-a-Thon in there.  <<<<  blaming number 6 on insomnia, honest.

This was written for Mama Kat’s Writer Workshop.  Check it out. Lots of fun!!   

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. […] get donations and exercise;  This time of year is always nice in this area.  You can check out my previous post and see photos of last fall with the leaves changing colors in the […]

  2. You weren’t kidding, it’s gorgeous there!

    1. Thank you. It’s one of the positives about a small town in the Blue Ridge. Honestly, there is great history here. I love to travel, but there’s no place like home. The New River that runs through our little town, is the second oldest river in the world. Coming in 2nd to the Nile river. It also runs upward toward West Va. instead of downward, south, like most rivers’ natural flow. Just little things I find cool. 🙂

