Hodgepodge – Rock Around The Clock


 

 

 

So many blogs I love participating on, how’s a girl to catch up?  I suppose I’ll say to everyone, blogging is supposed to be fun, so if I miss your blog hop ever now and again, I apologize and am always grateful to reconnect.  I’m going with Wednesday Hodgepodge over at From This Side of  the Pond.  I will be sure to do my Ten Things of Thankful sometime tomorrow.  I love that blog because well, it makes me reflect on things I’m grateful for.   Moving on to the questions for Hodgepodge:

1.  What’s one thing you learned in September?

Surprisingly enough, at age 36, I finally learned what my granny meant when she said, “Kill ’em with kindness.”  It’s not in my nature to play nice to someone whom doesn’t deserve it.  However, I have seen recently that just being nice and polite, not to mention letting it go for my own sanity, made the situation bearable.  It isn’t good to be so angry.  It’s also one of those lessons:  Only you control how you feel.  If you let someone else control how you feel, then they have power over you.  I’ve even learned I don’t have to have the last word. 

2. Acorn squash, butternut squash, spaghetti squash, yellow squash, zucchini squash, or blech! hold the squash!…what’s your favorite squash?  Your favorite way to prepare your favorite squash?

I’m not sure what my favorite squash is.  I don’t prepare it.  My mom used to fry squash, pretty sure it was zucchini squash, but not 100%.  She would fry it and add seasonings to it and it was so delicious.  Fact is, I didn’t grow up with my mom and so, I never got around to asking her how she made it, or what kind of squash it was.  I haven’t had fried squash since 2008 when she passed away.

3,  The older I get, the ______________________________.

words, “I’m sorry”  have become easier to say when I truly mean them.

4.  What’s your favorite television theme song ever?

Happy Days.  I still love to hear: ‘1,2,3 o’clock, 4 o’clock rock’ Rock Around the Clock by Bill Haley and His Comets.  It was replaced in 1976, the year I was born, with  the ‘Happy Days Theme’ by Pratt & McClain.  I liked it also, but prefer Bill Haley.

5.  What do you wish you’d spent more time doing 5 years ago?

Paying on fines I gathered in 2007 and focusing more on completing my court ordered driving class.  I also wish I had spent more time thinking about and actually putting into action, going back to school for some college classes that I now want to take.  Don’t get me wrong. I’m definitely working on these things now. I wanted to work on these things 5 years ago too, but I was busy having fun and not putting too much effort into these things.  Prioritize would be the best answer.  I wish i’d spent more time figuring out what my priorities were.

6. What item do you most need (or want) to add to your wardrobe this fall?

The item I most need would be some jeans.  I’ve gained a bit of weight over the past few months and none of my jeans fit anymore, with the exception of 1 pair.  I would rather focus on losing weight, but with the new medicine I’m on, I’d have to really dedicate myself to exercise and eating properly.  At the moment, I’m not unhappy with my weight and have been adding yoga to my days.  I want a pair of Camo Combat Boots that I seen featured in my favorite store, Rue 21. 

The Camo Combat Boots at Rue 21.  I want them so bad, I would almost put them in the 'need' category....almost.

The Camo Combat Boots at Rue 21. I want them so bad, I would almost put them in the ‘need’ category….almost.

7. On October 2, 1950 the Peanuts cartoon was introduced to the world.  What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?

I grew up with 3 channels, leaving Saturday morning cartoons a huge deal.  I loved Looney Tunes.  My favorite characters were Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, and Elmer Fudd.  I also enjoyed He-Man.  Then the Smurfs, Gummy Bears, Fraggles, Tom & Jerry,  and of course there was Super Friends, along with Scooby Doo.  I just gave a run down almost.  Since cartoons now just suck and they are on everyday on at least 5 different channels, the whole amazement in watching them has died out.  The only thing that still holds both my daughters’ attention is Sponge Bob Squarepants. sigh.

Batman, Robin, Wonder Woman, and Super Man plus sidekicks they added.

Batman, Robin, Wonder Woman, and Super Man plus sidekicks they added.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Just a random thought at the expense of sounding old……………. Cable, Satellite, Internet, Tablets, Smartphones, ect have all sort of cheapened the experience of enjoying shows such as Happy Days, Laverne & Shirley, The Jefferson’s, Different Strokes, and all of the Saturday morning cartoons.  My girls watch Looney Tunes and Looney Tunes Kids, but they can’t ever truly appreciate the enjoyment of only seeing these shows once a week.  Waiting on Holidays to watch ‘It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown’, or ‘Charlie Brown’s Christmas’.  The excitement when Mickey’s Christmas Carol came on and you didn’t miss it for the year.  I even remember waiting until around this time of year or closer to Thanksgiving just to watch ‘The Wizard of Oz’ and now my girls’ own it. lol.   

That’s all I have for Hodgepodge.  Go over and see how others answered these awesome questions.

 

 

