Wednesday Hodgepodge – Downy


 

 

So I missed yesterday for NaBloPoMo but I’ll do post today. 🙂  I wanted to start with Wednesday’s Hodgepodge.  I hadn’t participated on this blog much but I really enjoy it.  Here are the questions:

1. Today is my sister’s birthday (yesterday actually). What’s one way you’re like your siblings? If you don’t have siblings, how are you like your lifelong best friend or cousin?

I have a half sister but unfortunately, we aren’t close.  So, I can list one way I’m like my lifelong best friend who is more like a sister to me:  We actually are joined together by family……….for example:  my great aunt, Etta was married to her uncle, Lonnie.  My cousin, Leonard, was married to her aunt Doris.  Since my grandparents raised me and Etta was my grandmother’s sister, we spent so much time together from the time we were in diapers.  I would say we are alike in many ways, just as we are very different.  One way that we are alike is we both love to do most of the same things; lounge on the river, play our music loud in the car while dancing, taking the children to fun places, such as  a pumpkin patch, and neither of us care much for Christmas. Here is a photo of us on my 3rd birthday.  

she has the blonde hair and i'm the redhead behind her.

she has the blonde hair and i’m the redhead behind her.

 

2. What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you think of yourself at age eighteen?

Wow.  At 18,  I had dealt with a few deaths, like my grandfather and my aunt four months later.  During this time, at age 17, my boyfriend at the time proposed.  I knew for sure this was not a lasting relationship.  However, his proposal lightened my grandmother’s days.  She had aged a lot in the past few years from taking care of her husband while he was sick in a hospital bed, losing him and 4 months later losing her oldest daughter.  A wedding, especially of her grandchild she had raised, and marrying in her eyes, the perfect man, took years off her age.  She was happy, smiling, almost giddy and threw herself into plans for the wedding.  I tried speaking to her 4 months before the wedding and she said it was wedding jitters, but I could see the disheartened look and sadness in her eyes.  So in July of 1995, I had a Cinderella wedding, everything was perfect, except that I deep down knew I was making a mistake.  So at age 18, I felt like I had the weight of the world on my shoulders and ended up divorcing him 3 years later much to her distress.  Can’t turn back time though.

 3. Sculptor-dancer-actor-painter…if you could excel in one of these arts, which would you choose and why?

I would have to say painter.  I love photos and I love art of all kinds.  I have been having a blast on an app I found for Google Chrome called Psychopainter.  It let’s you use a sample, one of your photos, or start from scratch.  Then pick your brushes, ect so that you can repaint over the photo and make it look really good.  I’m still learning. So, I think to be a great painter would  be awesome.  Problem is I have no talent for it. lol

4. What’s a scent that takes you back in time, and where does it take you?

I don’t know how to explain the scent exactly.  Almost lavender is the best description I can come up with.  My granny used a certain kind of lotion and if I go through her things that haven’t been bothered for awhile, I can catch a whiff of that smell.  Also, Downy fabric softner.  My granny always used Downy and then hung the clothes outside on the clothe’s line.  So, the smell of Downy takes me back to growing up and warm summer days.

5. November is for peanut butter lovers (National Peanut Butter Lovers Month).  Are you a lover or a hater?  What’s your favorite dish/recipe that calls for peanut butter?

I actually love peanut butter.  A peanut butter and strawberry jelly sandwich are awesome.  I think my favorite recipe that calls for peanut butter is a recipe I learned in high school during Child Care 1.  It’s peanut butter playdough.  I have lost the recipe and lost it before I had children.  So, I can’t remember exactly but I know peanut butter was an ingredient.  Basically it was for small children to be able to make and then spend time rolling it around and “playing” with it before eating it. I really need to search for the recipe because it was so simple. 

6. What do people thank you personally for most often?

I would say I get thanked the most for being helpful and doing what I can to help others.  

7. What event this year are you most thankful for?

I guess an event I’m most thankful for this past year would be my oldest daughter’s graduation from 5th grade and beginning middle school.  I’m also proud of my youngest daughter’s wonderful work in this school year and enjoying learning in 2nd grade.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Just a random thought about how Halloween night was not real cold.  It was fun and nobody was freezing.  I stay cold anyway, so I was glad.  Today it is raining outside and just looks cold.  If that makes sense.  It’s one of those days to pile up with a good book and be warm and hopefully not have errands to run that lead outside. lol.  

 

So this was written for Day 6 and Day 7 or NaBloPoMo and for Wednesdays Hodgepodge.

 

