What’s In A Name


Mama's Losin' It

The Prompts:

1.) If I could live in any era of history, what would it be — list 10 reasons why.
2.) You know you’re a mom when…
3.) A blog post inspired by the word: weather
4.) Something you’re thankful for this week.
5.) The meaning of your name…does it suit you?

I have this information,which is almost exactly like the one below  on She Knows.  We were visiting Pigeon Forge when my 11 year old was 2 and she doesn’t remember anything.  We found  a store there where they sold pretty, decorative baby names and meanings on a piece of paper with a frame.  Turns out my name proved hard to find, but we finally found one shop that carried it.  So, my daughter has her page hung neatly in her room of Madison’s World.  I keep meaning to buy my youngest her name on paper  for her room of Olivia’s World.  

What’s funny is this isn’t why I was named this but I find a lot of the description to suit me well.  My grandmother whom raised me was Hazel Donald Sifford.  I am unsure why but a lot of people from her generation have men names tossed in the mix it seems.   Her baby sister’s name was Etta June.  My mom was going to name me Jennifer Rose from the soap opera Days of Our Lives.  My grandmother decided that wouldn’t work, so she took Don from her middle name Donald and put it with her sister’s name, Etta.  Ta Da – Don-etta.  However, throughout the years and before I began school, the way it was pronounced was changed.  So, Don-etta is now said Duh-netta.  The Duh sound at the beginning is fitting as well.  Although there are still many elderly in my community that insist on saying my name Don-etta.  I like my name. The meaning of my name that I found is the only one I’ve ever found.  

Italian Meaning: 

The name Donetta is an Italian baby name. In Italian the meaning of the name Donetta is: Lady. From the respectful title Donna.

People with this name have a deep inner desire to create and express themselves, often in public speaking, acting, writing or singing. They also yearn to have beauty around them in their home and work environment.

People with this name are excellent at analyzing, understanding, and learning. They tend to be mystics, philosophers, scholars, and teachers. Because they live so much in the mind, they tend to be quiet and introspective, and are usually introverts. When presented with issues, they will see the larger picture. Their solitary thoughtfulness and analysis of people and world events may make them seem aloof, and sometimes even melancholy.

This has been for Mama Kat’s Writing Prompt.

 

12 responses

  1. mamaslosinit

    I think your name’s meaning is even more special considering the way it came to you. Very sweet story!

    1. Thank you. I’m very proud to be named in part after my granny. And it sounds so much better than Jennifer Rose. I’m not sure if my mom was a hippie that tripped a lot or not. lol. j/k/

  2. I have a cousin named Donetta! Although, I haven’t ever met her. We come from an Italian family

    1. That is very cool. It’s too bad you haven’t had a chance to meet her.

  3. Great story….I love names that come from the family!

    1. Thank you. I love names that come from family or have some meaning to them. My best friend’s middle name is Ann and mine is Lee. So, she named her daughter, Alyssa Leann. Then when I had my youngest daughter, I named her Olivia Ann. So, sometimes friends can have an impact too.

  4. I really like your name! I like even more that it comes from family names 🙂

    1. Thank you. I went through a stage around 11 years old where I really wished mom would have picked Jennifer Rose. Then I learned to appreciate and love my name.

  5. Knowing this story is what makes your name so special

    1. Thank you very much. I went through that awkward stage in school when the teachers couldn’t pronounce it right and I was sooo shy. By high school, I’d learned to love my name.

  6. I love your name! It’s unique and I’m glad it suits you. My nephew Justin was named after a Day’s of Our Lives character, but he doesn’t know it 🙂

    1. That is too funny. I used to keep track of Days of our Lives religiously, but over the years lost track. Although, with most soap operas, I’m sure if I watched tomorrow’s episode, I’d know exactly what was going on. 🙂

