10 Reasons My Town’s Cool


I have been meaning to catch up on Monday Listicles and finally I have gotten around to it!  This weeks list is…………… 10 Things I Love About My Town.

1.   I love tanning and lounging around on hot summer days at the river that runs through my small town.  What amazes me is not only do people drive from all different states to fish here, but The New River is the 2nd oldest river in the world, with The Nile coming in 1st place. 

2.  Not only is The New River very old, it also flows South to North.  Beginning in N.C. and flowing North into Virginia, it travels it’s way through the Appalachian Mountains, into West Virginia before becoming one with The Gauley River and forming The Kanawha River. 

From the top of the mountain where I live, you can see The New River with ease.

From the top of the mountain where I live, you can see The New River with ease.

3.  Growing up in a small town, with the population around 400, can be hard at times.  For the most part though I’m glad my neighbors have known me since my birth 37 years ago.  I like knowing everyone whom resides here and know that my children are safe to trick or treat for Halloween.  Parrott is like a huge dysfunctional family where we have arguments but we also stick together in hard times.

4.   People are always a little taken back by a town name Parrott.  I love that the entire town is filled with history.  The town was named after John H. Parrott.  Though he never resided here himself, he was the owner of the coal company that operated in this town before the mines were shut down.

5.  I love the beautiful views that make up this town.  Especially in Autumn when all the mountain is colored by changing leaves.  Even though I don’t like being cold, the mountains look gorgeous covered in a blanket of white when it snows.  

This is taken from the town beside Parrott, on my girls' great grandparent's farm.  The view of Parrott from afar.  As you can see, the houses literally wrap around a mountain.

This is taken from the town beside Parrott, on my girls’ great grandparent’s farm. The view of Parrott from afar. As you can see, the houses literally wrap around a mountain.

6.  I love the walking exercise that living in a town like this provides.  In Spring and Summer, my best friend and I take my girls walking.  We began at my home and walk all the way to the last trestle on the river and then turn around from there and walk back to our swimming spot on the river.  The entire walk is close to 7 miles and since some of it’s uphill, it really provides a good work-out.

7.  I love the train tracks, to hear trains go by while lounging on the river, and as small town as this may seem, me and my best friend have counted each car on the trains since we were just kids. 

8.  My grandparents raised me and I love the fact that my grandfather had grown up here, along with his grandparents, and their grandparents.  I love that my family is rooted deep into this town.

9.  Parrott is about a 30 minute drive to any other town that has anything.  Example:  Super Wal-Mart – 30 minute drive.  Schools – 30 minute drive.  Va. Tech collage – in the next county – 30 minute drive.  Parrott seems to be in between everything.  I like that Parrott is off to itself but not completely away from civilization. 

10.  I enjoy that Parrott has two churches, a volunteer fire department, and a post office.  Then the bridge leads out of Parrott to all things mentioned in #9.  The bridge is the one way in and one way out of this town that holds so much history.  I also love that along the river, there is a camp ground privately owned by someone living here.  In the spring, summer, and fall days and nights, people crowd in to camp and some stay until winter.  There is live music from an older generation, mostly blue grass music, but it’s a lot of fun for the adults as well as the children.

A photo as you're driving into Parrott. My wonderful friend played around with the image to give it his individual style.

A photo as you’re driving into Parrott. My wonderful friend played around with the image to give it his individual style.

 

This has been my post for Monday Listicles.  Link up and share 10 things you love about your town. 

