If You Talk In Your Sleep


My Skewed View





Ah, this week Jen is asking for a Twisted Mix Tape about cheating.  There are so many songs to choose from.  I mean aren’t most songs about love, cheating, breaking up, or drugs………or all of the mentioned together? Here goes my list:

This has to be one of my favorite Elvis songs ever done.  His voice is smooth, the beat is sensual, and he’s telling his married lover not to talk in her sleep about him. My favorite lyrics in the song are, “Love is so much sweeter when it’s borrowed and I’ll rest a little easier tomorrow.” Coming from Elvis, it sounds wonderful to borrow love.   Great song, “If You Talk In Your Sleep”




This next song has a catchy beat and powerful words.  Most of her songs are like that.  Pretty blonde, petite Miranda Lambert states in this song, “Trade the truth in for a lie, cheating really ain’t a crime……..Now I don’t hate the one who left, you can’t hate someone that’s dead” Miranda Lambert singing “Kerosene”



“Beautiful Liar” is a wonderful song. Two women, loving the same guy, realizing he is playing them both, and they are sorry for the other one, but they both want him.  I have always found it pointless for women to lower themselves to fight or argue with another woman about a man.  The man is the one who promised loyalty, right? Unless it’s a drastic situation in where the other chic is your best friend. Then it’s okay to hate her too.  Here are two beautiful women singing a cheating song.  Beyonce and Shakira singing “Beautiful Liar”



Now, I know everyone has heard Carrie Underwood singing about her Louisville Slugger and the damage it can do to headlights.  This song is newer and I actually like it better.  It has two women, both were being cheated on by the same man, and so, they end up at his funeral.  That’s what I’m talking about, ladies.  Work together and plot some horrible vengeance on the cheating man.  Here is Underwood singing “Two Black Cadillacs”



This next song is probably one of the first few cheating songs I heard growing up and realized what was going on.  Of course, I had heard Hank Williams Sr. telling some woman that she’d walk the floor the whole night through and her cheating heart would tell on her.  Hearing Earl Thomas Conley singing “Holding Her and Loving You”  made me sad and made me realize what cheating was all about. Being super young and hearing him sing, I felt bad for him that he had to choose between two women.  Did I mention I was super young?  



On occasion I have to add 6 songs to the list and this is one of those occasions.  I felt like this song needed to be added because all the songs above are singing about cheating, revenge, not getting caught and all the stuff that comes along with cheating…… death.  This song by Gretchen Wilson called “When I Think About Cheating” is actually singing about how sure she gets lonely, sure she has opportunity to cheat, but then she thinks about how much she has to lose if she does cheat.  It fits in the theme. 



Here’s my play list for cheating songs.  A lot of choices to be made and I probably could have done a list of 10 in no time, but I won’t break the rules to that extreme.  i can name a couple I wanted to throw up there but the other ones I picked out ranked them.  One song was Lorrie Morgan singing “Good As I Was To You.”  The song title speaks for itself and the video is amazing.  The next one I debated about in my mind, and struggled with it or Gretchen Wilson, was “Jessie’s Girl” by Rick Springfield.  I thought about it because it’s a song about wanting to cheat, or wanting to have his best friend’s girl.  As you see Gretchen Wilson won.
So, this is a blog hop!!!  Link up over at Tuesday’s Twisted MixTape and share your cheating songs with everyone!  

16 responses

  1. I love it much more than “Before He Cheats”. I think because of the two women working together. lol.

  2. Thank you. Yeah, this Carrie song and her recent “Blown Away” are two of my favorites.

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

  4. Thank you. I thought the title of the song fit well with the theme. Shabby Blogs has so many pretty backgrounds to choose from and headers and other pretty things that I haven't figured out to use yet. lol

  5. Thank you so much. I grabbed the design from Shabby Blogs. So much prettiness there to choose from.

  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

  7. Ah, I love “More Like Her”. I almost added it to the list instead of “Kerosene”.. “Why Don't You Stay” totally slipped my mind but it is a great song, especially at the end when she decides for him. The video of her singing the song, it's like she is pouring her entire heart out into the song. Thanks for stopping by.,

  8. I'm glad you liked it. I'm smiling that I played an Elvis song you hadn't heard. 🙂

  9. Love the bluesy jam by Elvis! How is it I don't know this one? Kerosene, I always love hearing that one! Beyonce and Shakira have such a great combination of voices, it's just great to hear!
    I really loved this list, so much versatility!

  10. I love that Carrie Underwood song. I sing it to the Hubby all the time. LOL These are really awesome choices, especially Gretchen Wilson. I forgot about that song and it was nice to hear it again. Another good Miranda Lambert cheating song – More Like Her. One of the few songs told from the stand point of the other woman kind of like Sugerland's Why Don't You Stay.

  11. Love that you used the Elvis song as your post's title. Perfect wrap-up with Gretchen Wilson deciding that she's got too much to lose to cheat.
    PS I agree with Linda. Your blog is very pretty! I love the background.

  12. The Elvis tune is so good. And I know I've told you this before Donetta, but your blog is so pretty. I love it.

  13. I hadn't heard that Carrie Underwood song and I love the premise of the wife and girlfriend working together to make him pay for what he did to them both.

  14. Got to love this entire list. Stuck on Carrie!

  15. lol. I'm a huge Earl Thomas Conley fan. It took me forever to realize in the song “Set 'Em Up Joe” the verse that says “i'm playing E.T. and going to play him some more”, that it meant Earl Thomas. I feel silly now.

  16. You had me at Earl Thomas Conley.

