Broke Down and Busted Baby


My Skewed View



This week’s Twisted Mix Tape theme is “Things ya might get busted for in real life.”    Sticking to the theme still leaves room for many different scenes from many songs.  I am going to list the ones I can relate to.


Not to be redundant, but I can’t stress enough how I don’t care for a lot of today’s newer music and that’s with probably about any genre I can think of.  For the people who love outlaw country sounds such as Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash, George Jones, and so on, then Jamey Johnson is today’s country outlaw.  Most people know him through his one song that got a lot of radio air time, “In Color.”  I suppose songs like this next one won’t ever get any air time. Here is “High Cost of Living.”  The photo of police busting a door down makes it easy to see why this falls under this week’s theme.



Seems country stars go to jail a lot or maybe they did back in Jone’s lawnmower days.  I know I played a Miranda Lambert tune on last week’s playlist.  This one is a great song and has a police chase in the video.  It’s a good song and her voice is one that is unique to me.  “Fastest Girl In Town.”



This may seem like a drastic switch, but it’s not really.  Dr. Dre long before signing Eminem, already produced the coolest beats from/with his weed smoking companion, Snoop Dogg, to the deceased Tupac.  My oldest daughter honestly believes I should pay up to at least $200 on a pair of Beats headphones simply because they are a line from Dr. Dre.  I can’t stress to her enough that she doesn’t appreciate who Dre is, and why would she when she’s only 11?  This argument and the fact that if she knew every rap or album Dr. Dre produced and was 17 years old, I still refuse to pay that much for headphones.  I know I’m an unreasonable mother whom she deems “old” and loved my birthday last week as a chance to say, “37 is old but I love you mom.”  She doesn’t realize I’m kinda considered a cool mom because most parents censor their children’s music a lot. Anyway………….  sorry, had a moment.  Dr. Dre featuring Eminem and later Hittman on his track “Forgot About Dre” is telling people who don’t know, that he’s been in the music industry for quite awhile and also it’s mentioned his beats produced “the group that said, “mother f**k” the police.  The video has Eminem burning homes down. 


I won’t go into a long babble about Maroon 5.  I’m not sure what to babble about except that I love Adam Levine, I enjoy 90% of their songs, and being a huge fan, I am positive that Adam Levine cannot walk in on his woman with another lover, and then kill the dude.  Definitely would land him some jail time.  If in real life, he didn’t get busted, well, he stars in a cool video proving his guilt with an upbeat song, “Wake Up Call.”  I’m not sure why, but this is one of the first Maroon 5 songs I heard that turned me onto the band. 



I have come to # 5 on my list and ever since I read the theme, this song immediately popped into my head.  I debated about whether I would end up adding the song and have decided my list will not be complete without it.  Rehab without Hank Williams Jr. singing “The Bartender Song (Sittin’ At A Bar).   I am absolutely a Hank Jr. fan.  Huge fan, even though I almost had sun poison in 1996 from going to an all day outdoor music festival in a town that I cannot remember the name of but was far south Tennessee.  By 9 a.m. when we arrived, the sun was blazing hot, I’d drank too much Beam, often associated with Hank Jr. songs, and was wearing a black “Hank Williams Jr.” t-shirt.  Waiting all day, by the time Marshal Tucker was finished I was literally puking from the cups of beer that I was washing the Beam down with.  Sadly enough, Hank was going to be next to the last performers to play, which was hours away from anything remotely clear to dark, and we left. Which showed me that as much as I adore Woodstock and that era, I wouldn’t have lasted.  Well, that was a different era, so I can’t say that now.   Later, a group of friends that attended deemed it necessary to call me, and drop by with photos, because Hank had came on stage as last around midnight and had played until well after 5 a.m. …………… yes, only him.  This would also make the 2nd Hank concert I had missed.  Finally, I did get to see him an hour away from home with Charlie Daniels, Travis Tritt, and Jo Dee Messina in 1998 and had very good seats.   insomnia has me rambling. I apologize.  I dislike the remix of The Bartender Song with Rehab featuring Hank because I don’t feel like their voices mesh and I do feel like adding parts, editing other parts for radio play, and censoring words do take away from the original song. 



Alrighty then.  I appreciate anyone who takes the time to sort through the babble and listen to my playlist.  I loved the theme of “Things Ya Might Get Busted For In Real Life.”  Hope my playlist is well enough for my stories in between.  
This is a blog hop so please hop over to Jen’s blog My Skewed View and join in.  This is one of my favorite blog hops. A lot of fun,  plus getting to hear different music that I’ve never heard before is always a great thing for me. Until next week’s Twisted Mix Tape:



Happy Thanksgiving!!!!  May everyone have a blessed day and be safe! (it’s snowing here in Virginia).


One response

  1. I took the time! Your rambling is very eye opening… Don't think you would have lasted at a Dead concert either, or you would have gotten used to it 😉
    Meanwhile, great list. And don't tell your daughter that I have purple beats….

