Destined


Lillie McFerrin Writes

alone 5 sentence fiction prompt

     Fat raindrops pelted the window where Clara stared out at the darkness.   She replayed the past six months of her life over and over in her mind until everything was as blurry as her view.  It wasn’t like her to get depressed over another audition where she didn’t make the cut again.  Her toes  were aching under the bandages, her calves cramped, and she had her routine perfected. She thought about how hard she had worked to get to where she was now, and decided not to worry anymore about these small time dance studios because she knew she was destined to be a star. 

Written for:   Five Sentence Fiction

6 responses

  1. I heard dancing was very demanding, but the physical nature of it has to be hard, just as hard as the mental aspect of going out day after day to be rejected by those who holding your fate. This was lovely!
    http://glynis-imaginings.blogspot.com/2013/12/five-sentence-fictionneglectfulness.html

    1. Thank you for stopping by! I always wanted to take some type of dancing class growing up, but the opportunity never came. I do find dancing and ballet fascinating. My 2nd grader’s class went on a field trip to see “The Nutcracker” and she came home showing me different moves that she saw. It was wonderful.

  2. As I read this it seemed to me that Clara’s ego had suffered a blow and that she felt the rug being pulled from under her. She also seems to be quite snobbish at the end when she poo-pooed the small time dance studios because as you wrote she considered herself destined to be a star, because to her these individuals were only the little people who had no importance in her life. Good piece.

    Have a GREAT WEEKEND !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    1. Thank you for stopping by. I hadn’t really thought about Clara being snobbish but I can see how it come across that way.

      1. For some reason I can’t explain, many times in reading these FSFs I’ve been able to read between the lines and I usually include this observation in my response. I guess I did it again here, 🙂 🙂 🙂

      2. I liked your observation.

