Holiday Tradition


Mama's Losin' It

The Prompts:

1.) Write a blog post inspired by the word: pajamas
2.) A memorable gift.
3.) The last thing you got mad at a pet for.
4.) A favorite holiday tradition.
5.) Your top 5 favorite Christmas songs.

My favorite Holiday tradition began taking shape my high school year.  I know a lot of people that also do this, but growing up, this wasn’t a huge tradition my grandparents had.  It began because my 9th grade year in high school, I had a dear friend make me a stocking ornament with my name and the year (1990) on it.  So, the next year I hung it up and still have it.  Then in girl scouts, we made angels out of beads for ornaments.  My grandmother was one of the scout leaders, so I had given mine to her, only to still have it years later due to her passing away.  Then the Christmas of my senior year, my best friend was moving to New Mexico where her husband,whom was in the army then, was stationed.  She made me an angel ornament, that looked kinda like the ones we made in girl scouts.  In 1995, I was married, which lasted a brief 3 years.  However, for our 1st Christmas, we found a sand dollar ornament.  I also took an angel that belonged to my grandmother’s mom.  The reason being because my grandmother was staying with her sister at this time and they didn’t have room for a tree.  In 1998, I had moved back home and was getting a divorce, so I wanted a tree.  My grandmother gave me permission to go through her ornaments.  Now, I have a wreath that I made her in 1981 with my kindergarten class.

 

my ornament i made in 1981 - kindergarten

my ornament i made in 1981 – kindergarten

 

 

 My girls made the same wreath their kindergarten years.  Which is pretty cool.  I have my grandmother’s angel of course.  Then I have bells with my name and one of my best friend’s names engraved.  I have several carved ornaments that my best friend’s husband has made me and my girls. (the Army taught him something).  I have ornaments from The Christmas Place in Tennessee.  So, now it’s time to find this year’s special ornament to add to the collection. 

ornaments my best friend's husband, scott, carved for my daughters and i

ornaments my best friend’s husband, scott, carved for my daughters and i

This was written for:  Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop

4 responses

  1. My Mama bought me an ornament every year of my life, and when I got married, she gave them all to me. They are so special! I love all your ornaments!

    1. Thank you! That is awesome that you received an ornament every year of your life. What a wonderful thing to do. 🙂

  2. I love all your ornaments and that they hold such amazing memories for you! Dropping in from Mama Kat’s!

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by!

