What Owns Us


 

 

You could’ve made a safer bet, but what you break is what you get.
You wake up in the bed you make. I think you made a big mistake.

You own me. There’s nothing you can do. You own me.

~Mark Berninger of The National, Lucky You

 

You could have made a safer bet, but what you break is what you get.  

You wake up in the bed you made.  I think you made a big mistake.  

You own me.  There’s nothing you can do.  You own me.

Tell your friends we are done, but where have you left to run?

You wanted someone to save, be there when the days were grey.

Now you feel trapped inside, admitting we was just a lie.

You roll over to your mistake.  I wonder how much more a heart can break.

You own me.  There’s nothing I can do. You own me.

Eight long years we have shared.  Just to learn you never cared.

Doesn’t matter if it tears me apart.  You need a new start.

Told you once what not to say.   Those three words would get in the way.

Now they  own you.  Even if it’s wrong.  They own you. 

What more can we do.  The color green is an ugly hue.

I don’t want to be your ghost.  Chase what you want the most.

You own me.  God, it is true. You own me.  The way I wanted to own you. 

Written for: Write on the Edge –  Writing Prompt Week 10  

donetta sifford 3-11-2014

11 responses

  1. Beautiful piece of poetry. Lovely rhyming and you got me at the last two lines- fantastic work.

    1. Thank you so much. I usually don’t do a lot of rhyming but I think it worked for this.

  2. What a fantastic poem Donetta-it resonates with an yearning that most of us have felt at certain times in our lives-letting go should be this easy-sigh!Specially loved the lines,” Chase what you want the most.
    You own me. God, it is true. You own me. The way I wanted to own you.”You said it all there 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by. I’m glad you liked it and it was easy to relate to.

  3. This….wow. Amazing piece of writing, Donetta. That part about a heart breaking. It seems there is no limit to that, is there. This is another piece that puts into words what I can’t seem do myself. I’m speechless. Thank you:)

    1. Thank you Valorie. I was trying something new. A little more rhyme and less freestyle. I’m satisfied with how it turned out. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  4. I really like the incantation in this, like a mantra. “I don’t want to be your ghost.” That just brings a heavy sigh, doesn’t it?

    1. It does. Thank you for stopping by. Relationships can be so tough.

  5. angelaamman

    There’s something so sad about a relationship that sours before one of the parties is ready to let go.

    1. It is sad. Yet, it seems 99% of relationships end up that way. Thank you for stopping by.

