A Peace Lily? 10 Things of Thankful


Ten Things of Thankful

Ah!!!

Maybe it is March Madness………………….. I thought I’d lost my ability on WordPress to change my font color.  After my blonde moment passed, I realized I had the “kitchen sink”  hidden.   

I can not believe it is March 21 st and I have not participated in Lizzi’s Ten Things of Thankful all month. (head hung in shame).  Yesterday was the first day of spring and I have 10 things to be thankful for…………I hope.

1.  I am thankful I can change colors on my fonts, though I know it drives some crazy, and on a professional level, I am never to do this.  It’s fun though.

2.  I am soooo thankful that today’s highs are going to be 66%!!!!  Maybe I’m going “glass half full”  but that’s close to 70 % and that means walking weather!!!!  Now, I’m ignoring the cold front coming Sunday with snow and more wintery mix.  

3.   I am thankful for Banana Split Ice Cream Sandwiches.  Yes, I’m trying to drop about 20 lbs, but they have to be better for me than brownies at night/ early morning.  Plus Ice Cream is dairy product.      Isn’t it funny how some people <ahem> can rationalize anything to explain a bad habit. lol

4.  On a more serious note, I have lost 5 lbs.  Weight hasn’t ever been an issue with me really.  But add new bipolar meds with stress, and through in some wintery mix……………. for me equals I’ve gained a lot of weight. My goal is to get back down to 125 – 130 area for my height of 5’4 1/2.  I’m off by 25 lbs at the moment. 

5.  I’m thankful for my sarcastic yet funny sense of humor.  Laughter is the only way to deal  with life for me.  If I forget to laugh, I may start crying and never stop.  My sense of humor allows me to say, “I’ve gained this ungodly amount of weight, didn’t weigh this much with either 2 pregnancies, but I’m working out more, spring is coming, I walked on a nice day last week, so I’m eating 2 of these banana split ice cream sandwiches and I don’t care who knows………..hahahahaha.”  

6.  This may sound silly to some, but my boyfriends grandmother passed away almost 2 years ago.  His step-mother gave me a plant when I ask for another one.  I have no green on my thumb at all.  However, I have kept this plant alive for almost 2 years and didn’t know what it was.  Then one day it sprouted a huge stem with an odd flower on the end.  Of course, I hit up Google, and I have a Peace Lily.  or a Sympathy Lily.  But it is beautiful. 

My Peace Lily 3-4-2014

My Peace Lily 3-4-2014

7.  I am thankful for everyone that reads my blog, even when I don’t write in it everyday. I read almost everywhere that to be a successful writer one must write everyday, even if it’s 5 minutes, or 100 words.  I’m afraid I don’t always stick with that and I’m not sure I agree.  Although, I’m not published in anyway, unless you count my 2 blogs, Twitter, and Facebook.  So, me not agreeing hasn’t proven the advice wrong.  Still, I have some that do read my post and I’m grateful.

8.  I’m grateful for my two daughters.  They keep me on my toes. I’m also grateful for the true friends I have.  Without them, I’d be lost. 

9.  I’m grateful or thankful for my love of books.  I enjoy reading challenging books and learning.  Though, I haven’t submitted any of my work to anyone since I was 18 years old and got burned on a poetry contest, that ended up costing me $75, I’m still hopeful that I will figure out how to put together and amazing cover letter and  manuscript of my poetry.  To be published in a credible Lit Mag would be a dream come true for me. 

10.  With all the bad that comes with Social Networks, I’m thankful for all the good I have found.  Such as Lizzi’s blog and her Ten Things of Thankful.  I fully intend to take the time to write 10 things I’m thankful for even if I don’t write anything else all week.  It’s the little things that make me happy and to be able to reflect on 10 things that make me happy, as hard as it can be at times, puts life back into prospective for me.  Everyone have a beautiful weekend!!!

12 responses

  1. I’m thinking those plants are given at funerals for good reasons. My mom gave one to me after my step-dad’s funeral. I kept it alive for almost three years, then told her to take it back. The pressure of keeping it alive was wearing me out. They are hardy plants to live through my lack of good care.
    Enjoy that beautifully warm weather. That will have to help you reach your weight loss goal.
    Glad to see you back here at the hop!

    1. Thank you. It’s nice to be back. It is so tiresome keeping up with it, yet I hate to give it away. lol.

    2. Thank you for dropping by. I didn’t realize it was a funeral plant until it start growing the flowers. I had no clue what it was but to spite my ‘step-mother-n-law’, I focused on not killing it. I read somewhere online that brewed tea bags were great for plants. So, I started putting our tea bags in with the plant after each pitcher was finished. My 11 year old said I grew a tea plant. lol. So, I looked it up.

  2. Nice to see you on this hop again! And congrats on the weight loss! It sounds like your goal is manageable, so good luck. Hope it isn’t too challenging with the meds (I know they run havoc with weight!).

    That plant is beautiful – and so wonderful that you have kept it alive and thriving!

  3. Share a banana split sandwich with Donetta!

  4. I firmly believe that it’s better to laugh than cry, so I try to find the bright side of every situation, no matter how sucky. Good for you to lose 5 lbs. Baby steps! And if an occasional ice cream sandwich helps, then eat them. I mean, they’ve got calcium and vitamin D and stuff in them. And fruit. Banana split, right? Yeah, they have fruit in them….

  5. sorry, so excited about being first comment (not first Post) lol welcome ‘back’ this is still the best of a bloghops pretty much ’cause of the talented and skilled writers who hang out here.
    Totally agree with #5… a sense of humor (maybe better to say, ‘a willingness’ to let humor show itself through the bad things is so the best way to get through tough times)

    1. That’s so funny. This most definitely is the best blog hop ever.

  6. lrconsiderer

    Yupyup – that’s a peace lily alright, and a nice one at that. Mine is very ill-kempt indeed, and has seen better days. I need to tend to it. Well done for not killing yours.

    I’m glad you’re having fun with this blog, playing with your colours etc 🙂

    Always good to see a TToT list 😀

    1. I am excited about not killing it yet. I am so glad to be back on the blog hop. It helps to put things in perspective for me.

