You’ve Got Soul


My Skewed View


Theme this week…………………… These Lyrics Are Genius.………. 
I could fill my 5 quickly with Rob Thomas’ lyrics to about every song he has written, but I will not bore you to death with Matchbox 20.  In fact, I can think of a few more songs and lyrics that are genius, or to me……………..

Halestorm singing “I Forgive You.”  This is a song that reminds me that sometimes the wrong people are in our lives and they hurt us. But somehow it makes us stronger, and forgiving them is letting go of all the baggage.
My favorite lyrics are the second verse:
“So maybe, I’ve had some regrets
But I don’t know whether I’d do it different anyhow
Baby I’m faithful, cuz if it wasn’t for your foolish ways
Baby I wouldn’t be as strong as I am now.”



Johnny Paycheck singing “Old Violin” is one of those songs that comes from the heart and sometimes when I’m in a mood, not so much sad, but not so much happy either, I love listening to this song. 
“I feel like I could lay down and get up no more. It’s the damnest feeling. I never felt it before.”


The Rolling Stones sing a lot of songs that I spend time trying to decode what the lyrics mean.  Then some of the lyrics just talk to me.  “No Expectations” is a brilliant song to me and sung so well.
“Once I was a rich man. Now I am so poor. But never in my sweet short life have I felt like this before.”


311 is a band that most either love or hate.  I happen to love them.  “Beautiful Disaster”  is a song that says a lot without saying much in the lyrics, if that makes sense.
“I know a drugstore cowgirl so afraid of getting bored. She’s always running from something, so many things ignored.”
I, of course, have to add a Matchbox 20 song to my list.  As I said, I find most of Rob Thomas’ lyrics to be genius.  It’s hard to pick just one song but I will.
“You’re so heavy, you’re so misunderstood,
And I spent all my wishes wishing times were good,
When I still could.”
Soul
There are my 5 genius lyrics for this MixTape.  Head on over and share yours… it’s a blog hop!!!

4 responses

  1. I'm glad you liked the list. I am one of those people that can't listen blindly to a song just because it has a good beat. I want the lyrics to say something to me, about me, for me. This was a great topic.

  2. I'm glad you liked it. My grandparents raised me, so I grew up on Paycheck, George Jones, Hank Sr…… the list goes on. Thank you for stopping by.

  3. This is a great mix, and I love your choices. I knew everyone had lyrics they tuned into, but again, part of me is surprised, I mean sometimes people listen so blindly.
    Thank you for the Halestorm song, I've been going through a little bit of that myself lately. It was a good reminder!

  4. I agree with you on both the Rolling Stones' and Rob Thomas's lyrics being genius. Some people just seem to have a gift. I really liked your picks. I have never heard “Old Violin” but I really liked it.

