Earth Day 2014 – Today and Everyday


earthday40

 

 

my spot from top of mountain

The New River flows through my small town in Parrott, Va.

This is at my daughters' paternal great grandparents' farm.  It's in the joining town, don't blink an eye, this is the view of my hometown.

This is at my daughters’ paternal great grandparents’ farm. It’s in the joining town, don’t blink an eye, this is the view of my hometown.

It is Earth Day, 2014.  44 years ago, before I was born in ’76, people started a movement that I don’t think they imagined growing this large.  I live in the Appalachian Mountains in a small, retired coal mining town named Parrott after the owner of the coal mine company, John H. Parrott. Parrott is located in the valley of the Blue Ridge Mountains, and The New River divides Parrott and McCoy, Virginia.  This area is rich in history from the coal mines, to the people, to the river.  Although named “The New River”, the river is believed to be the second oldest river in the world, with The Nile being first.  The New River flows north instead of south and begins around Boone County, N.C. From there it flows through several counties in Virginia, making it’s way into West Virginia.  Once in West Virginia, The New River merges with The Ohio River, The Kanawha River, and The Mississippi River, finally dumping into The Gulf of Mexico.  The surrounding counties are called The New River Valley.  

People come from out of state to fish these waters, hunt these mountains, and enjoy the scenery.  Earth Day is just one day celebrating how precious our lands and waters are to future generations.  Every day we all should remember to recycle, pick up all garbage, keep our plants and trees alive, be good to our animals, and never dump poisons into the waters.  There are so many different ways of contributing to our Earth, to give back what our forefathers gave us and preserve it for our children.  I’m climbing on board and my 11 and 8 year old daughters have learned so much already from school.  I hope everyone enjoys Earth Day and treats everyday as if it’s a celebration of life on this planet. 

Another view of my town on Halloween 2013

Another view of my town on Halloween 2013

The New River - Parrott, Virginia - taken by Donetta Sifford

The New River – Parrott, Virginia – taken by Donetta Sifford

Field trip with my 2nd grader to Wolf Creek Indian Village, Bastian, Va. 2013........ the "O" in 'love' is 'whole'

Field trip with my 2nd grader to Wolf Creek Indian Village, Bastian, Va. 2013…….. the “O” in ‘love’ is ‘whole’

