N-O-U-R-I-S-H What It Means To Me


NaBloPoMo May 2014

 

 

A couple days missed.  My excuse: I was at the e.r. for a day Thursday because I thought I had a bladder infection and was in an ungodly amount of pain.  My pain threshold is pretty high too.  Turns out, it’s not an infection and well, frankly, it’s a woman type thing time and so I have to follow up with my family doctor.  The e.r. doctor was pretty sure it’s related to my reproductive system and I have said that I never had cramps once a month until after I had my second baby girl, and she turned 8 in January. 

Now that all that personal business is out of the way, I am going to spend a few minutes to explain what “NOURISH” means to me.  I try hard to keep up with writing everyday in my blogs.  Life sometimes jumps in the way.  So, the theme for May’s NaBloPoMo is nourish.  I am not sure I can write for a month about food.  The word ‘nourish’ holds different meanings for me.  

1.  I do think of food.  I absolutely have the worst eating habits.  My grandparents raised me and anyone that stopped by the house knew my granny wasn’t letting them leave without eating if it was time for breakfast, lunch, supper, and sometimes because she was hungry.  I was raised on 3 meals a day and I know a lot of southern style cooking isn’t considered healthy but I’m sure it’s healthier than eating a couple bowls of cereal a day, a few snacks, and late at night waking up and eating ice-cream.  While this diet has gotten me through the last 20 years, I have two daughters that are growing up so fast on me and I am trying to incorporate healthy eating and mealtime planning into their lives. 

2.   May has come and I believe southwest Virginia is thawing out.  It is gorgeous today.  I love walking and being outside during warm weather.  I am also trying to lose weight.  Not much but some that I definitely gained during winter.  This is the time for me to nourish my body as well as my flower bed.  Which leads to number 3………………..

3.  Nourishing my mind falls on this list.  What does this mean for me?  I love reading all the time, but I find reading while lounging in the sun makes it much more enjoyable.  I have began meditating again along with yoga.  In this way, 2 and 3 walk hand in hand.

4.  While nourishing my body, mind, and soul are all my top goals, I also believe all relationships need nourishment to keep them strong.  Anything worth having in life is worth working for.  

There are the 4 basics of what the theme ‘nourish’ means to me.  I may get into the how’s later on this month.  What does ‘nourish’ mean to you?  

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. I hope you are feeling better! Those are wonderful thoughts for nourish. I think what nourishes me is beauty. And touch.

  2. […] By donettasifford Day 3. Better a couple days late than never? I hope so because I just came upon this and added my first post to my blog on WordPress. https://donettas.wordpress.com/2014/05/03/n-o-u-r-i-s-h-what-it-means-to-me/     […]

