Earth is Like a Child


NaBloPoMo May 2014

 

 

One of my favorite books is “Letter To A Young Poet.”  After reading the letters that Rainer Maria Rilke shared with the poet who sought him out for assurance and critique on his poetry, it made me reflect on my own writing and my own poetry.  Reading this book is one the top of my list for reasons I still write poems.  The temperatures are wonderful here in Virginia.  I feel like we’re all thawing out from a rather difficult winter.  I ran across this quote from Rainer Maria Rilke and decided I would share it.  Though I’ve well missed days out of the 8 NaBloPoMo May 2014.  I’d still like to catch up or jump in again. 

“Spring has returned.  The Earth is like a child that knows poems by heart.”  {Rainer Maria Rilke}   

