Keep Flowing


The New River - Parrott, Virginia - taken by Donetta Sifford

The New River – Parrott, Virginia – taken by Donetta Sifford

 

 

The New River flows north.

Summer days spent lounging

at the spot where I learned to swim.

Warm breeze blows through my hair

at night as the Whipper Wills sing.

My children’s laughter bounces

off the rushing ripples, in the distance

a fish jumps up with a splash.

As Autumn closes in around us,

reminding me all must change,

I snap my camera trying to freeze

each moment in time, forever.

Before the cold, dark Winter

blows in, splashing colors of black.

Somehow I made it through

the harshness of your chilly words.

Woke one morning to find

sunlight playing outside.

Surprising me that once again,

Spring has settled and I

walk along the river bank

feeling hopeful once more.

The river keeps flowing North.

donetta sifford 5-12-2014

Written for: Red Wolf Journal

e

