The Edge Of Nothing






What is happening to me happens to all fruits that grow ripe.
It is the honey in my veins that makes my blood thicker, and my soul quieter.

― Friedrich Nietzsche




What is happening to me
happens to all fruits that grow ripe.
It is the honey in my veins
that makes my blood thicker,
and my soul quieter, somehow.
I am alive, full of knowledge
that feels as if I’ll burst, 
unless I write down my experience.
As I stare at the blank pages,
I am deflated, as if picked
for someone to feast on
the sweet knowing running through me.
Then realized their taste buds
have been betrayed, for I’m sour.
Sour and bitter, for after all,
I’ve stood at the edge of everything,
and found nothing. 

Donetta Sifford  5-26-2014

Written for: Write on the Edge Week 22

4 responses

  1. *clicks love button*

  2. The way you used the quote as a jump off line was good. While I liked everything in the poem, this line really stood out for me (maybe because I've been there!)

    “As I stare at the blank pages,I am deflated, as if picked for someone to feast on…”

    I've been at this place before:~) Thanks for sharing this poem!

  3. This line…”I've stood at the edge of everything, and found nothing.” Oh my! So much in line, so much. Beautiful piece.

  4. The edge of nothing. You captured that feeling very nicely!

