Albert Camus – Quotes I Love


albert camus

 

I have enjoyed reading Albert Camus over the years and have added some of his quotes on my Facebook page and different things online and off.  One of his more famous quotes is : Do not walk behind me, I may not follow.  Do not walk behind me, I may not lead.  Walk beside me and be my friend.  

Another well known quote from his writings:  “In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within my lay an invincible summer.”

 

One of my more favorite quotes comes from his book, The Fall.  “I used to advertise my loyalty, and I don’t believe there is a single person I loved that I didn’t eventually betray.”       His honesty in these words are what intrigued me in the first place.   

So do any of you have any favorite quotes that you can’t help but want to share?  If so, let me know in the comments!!!  

2 responses

  1. Camus was never one of my favorites – kind of a love/hate thing with him – but I know those quotes well. The invincible summer is one of my favorites and I just love it.
    Let’s see…if I had to pick favorite quotes, I’d say nearly anything from Emerson’s Self-Reliance or the Conclusion of Thoreau’s Walden. But one that I found a few years ago hold special meaning for me…from Washington Irving: “There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are the messengers of overwhelming grief, of deep contrition, and of unspeakable love.”

    1. Wow. That is beautiful. I discovered Camus because I had read the invincible summer. Some of his writing I find a bit disturbing, but I think that’s why I keep coming back to him.

