Forgotten Hope


Keith Haring 



Twisted and jaded, the world

as we made it, forgetting kindness.

Compassion has been stated as

being overrated, so has love.

Heaven and Hell begin looking

alike, as the bombs drop, children

hungry at night, the news is all bad.

Stumbling across beauty, bittersweet.

Hope still lives in the hearts of some

that create beautiful art on ugly streets.

Twisted and jaded, the world

as we made it, forgetting peace.


donetta sifford 8-11-2014

Written for Magpie Tales – Mag 232

Find information for the Keith Haring Foundation at



10 responses

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by! I tend to write about dark things. I believe I was read articles of all the violence and war, and it made me think of my two daughters and wonder what we're all leaving for the next generation.

  2. It is sad. I read a quote somewhere that says we are leaving this world behind for future generations. Reminded me of my two daughters. Thank you for stopping by.

  3. I will have to look him and his writing up. Thank you for stopping by and I'm always excited to find a new read.

  4. Thank you so much for stopping by.

  5. Yes, I see why you wrote this – a slant which I did not think about.
    We have ruined the planet . . . sadly . . .
    Eddie 🙂

  6. twisted and jaded the world as we have made it..yes, man has destroyed much in the world and sadly it is the only one we have.

  7. So true , Donetta , the world as we all made it …as Theodore Roszak describes so well in “person / planet”…..
    Cheers

  8. Very apt for the current world situation – forgetting peace, forgetting kindness.

  9. Strong. Well done. Maybe there is hope.

    Thanks for coming by to visit.

  10. I do feel the hope!

