Medicated


Magpie Tales

Voices bouncing around
inside my mind, loud.
Leaning back trying to breathe.
Muscles less tense
as my medicine kicks in.
Focusing on a floating cloud
wondering why this is me.
Drawn out episodes
leave me tired and blue.
So much I just can’t say
because it would only hurt you.
I know you think I never try.
Perhaps you think I don’t think
about my actions at all.
Conversations linger in my head.
Especially the ones we never have.
Too many nights up
trying to soothe my fleeing mind.
Would love if you could hear the roaring
with me, so you can finally understand.
I don’t really want to be this way.

Donetta Sifford
Written for Magpie Tales
9-16-2014

12 responses

  1. Thank you. That means a lot.

  2. She may be. Seems the whole world has jumped aboard the 'bipolar train.'

  3. Thank you. That's the best, when I can write something relatable.

  4. Thank you so much. I'm glad you had a chance to stop by.

  5. Donetta this is a powerful write for sure. One that many could relate to and many should read.

  6. Its hard on everybody …but maybe She is the sane one ?

  7. I love this, and can relate.

  8. I trust you absolutely! Written with passion ~ Thanks for stopping by :)xx

  9. Powefully written, and rather moving…

