My Hopes


I’m on Day 11 of OctPoWriMo 2014, when I should be on Day 14.  I’m not going to be too hard on myself because I’m going through some things and my blogs have been neglected.  Carrying on with Day 11’s prompt, and making the world a better place for all children, I think I’ll play with the word ‘neglected’. 


“Take the blinders from your vision
take the padding from your ears

and confess you’ve heard me crying 

and admit you’ve seen my tears.” 

Poetry Prompt: 

Photo by Morgan Dragonwillow


Free write for ten minutes about creating a better world for children. What injustices have you stood up for? What can we do as a community to make the world safer for children?

Word Prompts:


Children
Education
Equality
Bravery

Feeling Words:


Tenacious
Determined
Vulnerable
Courageous


Would I want for you my daughters,
to take the same hard roads I chose?
I would build barriers uncrossable 
to keep you from any wrong turns.
I would move mountains for you,
with the faith of a mustard seed.
If that could safely keep you
from living your lives like me.
Here’s what I hope for you both;
Remember knowledge is power.
Hold tenaciously to your beliefs.
Treasure your educations, 
whether in books or on the street.
It’s alright to be vulnerable enough
to let love in your hearts, however,
be courageous when you feel weak.
Don’t neglect the ones you trust.
Treat everyone the same, equality.
You can’t learn my mistakes 
but you can own up to yours.
Make it right if you can, 
then move forward, let it go.
Keep your dreams alive
no matter how far off they are.
Live as though it’s your last day.
Think ahead in case it’s not.
Love without reservations.
Know you’re worth unconditional love.
Would I want for you my daughters
to travel the hard roads I walked?
No, because I am who I am.
Both of you can be so much better. 

donetta sifford 10-14-2014
