7 Survival Tips


Mama's Losin' It

The Prompts:

1.) Write about a sleepover that did not go as planned
2.) Polar freeze or highest temps your state has seen…what would you rather?
3.) Write a blog post inspired by the word: football
4.) List 7 ways to survive a power outage.
5.) Write a post in just 12 lines.

Power outages are nothing new to me due to the fact I live literally on a mountain.  Parrott Mountain, Va. to be exact.  So, snow, ice, and all that winter messiness is sure to cause a power outage.  Since my community is smaller than most in this county, population 301, we are the last ones to get power back on.  So here are my 7 tips on surviving a power outage.  A generator is nice, but we don’t own one, so we do it the “Little House on the Prairie” way.  

  1. I’m 38, terrified of the dark.  I passed this on to my 12 year old.  Now, my 8 year old, she is a champ in the dark.  We have an oil lamp in every room, and a couple put up, ready to light when the blackness comes from nowhere.  I collect candles, so we usually have plenty of them to go around.
  2. The house I own and rent out depends on electricity for heat.  We kept a couple kerosene heaters put up.  Since we moved into his grandmother’s home, I am blessed with a wood stove.  We use it in the winter rather than the heat pump to save on the electric bill.  I have to admit, I am spoiled now and want nothing to do with furnaces. 
  3. If the power is going to be out for awhile, and we have had it go out for a week or a little longer, nobody wants the food in the fridge to go bad.  When I was younger, my grandparents have put milk in the ice outside, and other things in ice because it was colder than the fridge.  We had a gas stove when I was growing up, so if it was possible, my grandmother would cook the things from the freezer to keep them from going to waste.  The nice thing about living in such a small town, his father is a short walk away, and he has a generator, so we can take our food items from the fridge and take it to his dad’s.  We have kept a cooler of ice too for things we needed here.  
  4. We usually know if the power is going to be out for awhile, so we know the hot water will turn cold.  If anyone needs a fast hot bath, they take it.  I have had to boil water on the woodstove and fill up the tub so my girls and I can bathe.  My boyfriend is crazy enough to take a super fast shower in cold water. 
  5. Most basics out of the way, I like to gather a bunch of blankets that are warm, and usually pull out the couch bed so my girls can snuggle together.  Sometimes I’ll climb on there with them.  For one thing, it’s cozy.  Also, we can’t burn all the oil out of the oil lamps or burn the candles up so each of them can stay in a different room.  That’s not realistic.  The woodstove is amazing but if the fire dies out some while we’re sleeping, blankets are my best friends.
  6. My girls don’t realize they’re pretty lucky.  I had 3 t.v. stations growing up, so t.v.’s aren’t a huge deal for me, nor electronics to entertain me.  It’s nice to have an MP3 player and batteries.  I love music. Growing up, my grandparents had a radio that ran off batteries but it picked up 2 stations, bluegrass and gospel.  So, growing up, I shared an oil lamp with my aunt, and I read books or wrote poems.  My 8 year old has a portable DVD player, and if the batteries go dead, my boyfriend can take it to his dad’s and charge it. Same goes for his, mine, and my 12 year old’s cell phones.  I didn’t have that growing up either but I won’t lie, I want my cell phone charged. 
  7. Humor.  It’s tedious and stressful after a long period of time with no power.  At first it’s mostly annoying.  So, we count who tries to turn the light switch on the most, who tries the microwave, and different things that we are so used to.  The stubbing of a toe on furniture is probably not the funniest, depending on who stubs their toe. lol 

So, there are the best 7 tips to surviving a power outage that I can come up with.  Head over to Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop and pick a prompt. It’s fun. 

8 responses

  1. You sort of made me want to move to the mountains just now…how did you do that?

  2. I’ve never been in a power outage that lasted longer than a couple hours, and never in the cold. I would be like you with the kerosene lamps everywhere. I don’t like the dark either. And I’d totally win the contest of who flips the light switch the most times cause they forgot the power was out.

  3. dyannedillon

    We have a wind-up radio in case we lose power and need information. We keep it in the basement for tornadoes, but it has come in handy for ice storms, too. Brrr! You’ve made me cold!

    1. Oh wow. We actually had two tornadoes touch down in my county 2 years ago. It was scary. Living in the mountains, we were taught most our lives that the mountains make it almost impossible for a tornado to touch down. To see an entire mountainside torn to shreds was horrible. A wind-up radio and basement sound comforting.

  4. I love the lasting warmth of a wood stove. We used to use lump coal through the winter months. One or two pieces of coal would keep the fire burning all night long and the temperature a toasty warm.

    I live in a rural town, as well. Not quite as small as yours… but isn’t it the best kind of life! I loved your post.

    1. It is a nice life. Thank you for stopping by.

  5. Great tips! We’re lucky in that we rarely lose power (our power lines are all underground). My in-laws lose power several times a year, though….

    1. That sounds so much smarter, to have them underground. Wonder why all the power companies don’t do that?

