Love Is A Caged Bird


Remembering us younger,
though it’s hard to merge
who we are now 
with who we were then.
My revolving mind couldn’t
focus on the future.
Our future where I feel insecure,
alone, unwanted.
Trying to recapture the feelings
my mind knows we shared,
my heart refuses to recall.
Love is change, I’m told.
Compromises, broken dreams,
promises never kept.
Invested a lot of time
holding on to the thought
of you and me. 
Like a bird caged 
since memory,
with the door open,
does the bird fly to freedom?
Or does she retreat, 
seeing the door as life alone?
If love is only the sake of security,
then wouldn’t another partner do?
My one regret will be
not attempting to arouse
old feelings with you.
So, all the resentment
wrapped around us,
if I leave as I should,
will you carry a mental image
of bitterness, or would you 
remind yourself that we once were in love?

Written for Magpie Tales 254


8 responses

  1. I've pondered these same questions…

  2. I agree. My grandparents raised me and were together from 18 years old, til death parted them, and in my granny's religious belief, they'd be together again. I think people give up too easy these days or throw around the word love without considering what that means, or both. I'd like to keep constantly loving my partner, even on days I hate him. lol

  3. Thanks for dropping by. I hope I'm not the only one.

  4. Thank you. Always a pleasure when you stop by.

  5. I suppose love is a choice l that both must constantly make , time being irrelevant …..

  6. I wonder how many people feel like this.Excellent.

  7. Beautifully written and quite moving…

  8. excellent poem- especially the question at the end.

